Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-23-2013, 09:41 AM   #1

Monaco Owners Club
Alternator Problem??

I have a 2001 Diplomat 38A. I was driving yesterday, everything was fine for 3 hours. The last 30 minutes of the ride strange things started. I was on cruise control at 60mph. The motor lost power and came right back. It did that several times. I noticed 1-the booster gauge took a dip to 10 then right back up. 2-my voltage was now about 13.5 when it's usually at 14.2v.

When I took the cruise control off. It worked fine. I had to turn my headlights on. When I turned on the parking lights my voltage dropped to 12.8v. When I out the headlights on the volt gauge went to 12.5 volts for a few minutes. Then it slowly climbed up to 14.0 volts.

I have 6 month old chassis batteries. I checked them with the engine off and shore power. I get 12.8 volts. That's not good.

My manual says I have a chassis battery maintainer. I have no clue where it is. I can't find it. I think if it is bad it may be dragging my power down while driving.

Anyone have knowledge or ideas??
Thanks
Rick
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!