Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2014, 08:04 AM   #1
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 24,253
Anybody replace A/C in a fully-ducted system?

I have a new Dometic Penguin heat pump on the way and I'm trying to figure out how to install it. My coach has the central air duct that goes all the way from front to back, passing directly below each A/C unit. There is a short metal duct from the discharge on the A/C directly into the top of the duct. The duct appears to be solid across the opening and into the ceiling on each side.

I don't see how I can get the new unit in place on top and make the short discharge duct match up. That's gonna be like threading a needle in the dark! Has anyone ever done this that can tell me how to go about it? I really appreciate your help!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-16-2014, 09:15 AM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 24,253
I just got off the phone with Monaco tech support. I tried to reach them yesterday but never did. I explained the problem of making the ducts line up. They said that it was a real PITA! They told me the horizontal duct running from front to back is just styrofoam with a foil coating. I am going to cut the duct completely into on each side of the opening, install the top unit, attach the discharge duct, then put the duct back in place and tape it back together with foil duct repair tape! They say this should work fine!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 09:27 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gorlininc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 1,718
That sounds like a plan. I know my ducks are connected with duct foil tape. I'm sure sooner or later I'll be confronted with a similar problem.
__________________
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 09:31 AM   #4
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,116
Joe,

Just a heads up, but is your thermostat the original, maybe (5) button one? If so, you might also check and see if it will work with the newer ac's. If/when we replace any of our dometic units, we were told that a newer style stat and a different control board would possibly be needed. This is what we currently have:
http://www.ecrater.com/p/8816637/dom...fort-control-5 but would have to change to the newer round one in either black or white. http://eldonrv.com/Thermostat-Multi-...Center-2-.aspx I don't have a pic of the control board in question.
__________________
04 Newmar DSDP 4015-Cummins ISL 370hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:28 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 24,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC2 View Post
Joe,

Just a heads up, but is your thermostat the original, maybe (5) button one? If so, you might also check and see if it will work with the newer ac's. If/when we replace any of our dometic units, we were told that a newer style stat and a different control board would possibly be needed. This is what we currently have:
Dometic 3109228.001 Duo Therm Comfort Control 5 Button Thermostat t-stat but would have to change to the newer round one in either black or white. Thermostat, Multiple Zone LCD Comfort Control Center 2 (black shown) I don't have a pic of the control board in question.

Yeah, they told me that a conversion kit would be required to make the new heat pump work with the old 5-button Comfort Control Center thermostat. This kit includes a new control board to replace the one in the new A/C. I ordered it along with the unit. Thanks!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 01:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Denali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 244
Not that hard

We replaced ours in 2012.

The duct on the new Penguin did not quite match the old one, but it was close enough that a little metal tape made an air-tight seal without obstructing any air flow. With two of us working up there, it wasn't too hard.

We replaced the thermostat rather than buying the conversion kit. The new thermostat is somewhat better than the original five-button model. It's programmable (never use that feature) and has a more easily-read display.

One thing that surprised me with the new unit was that when it comes on, in either Cool or Heat Pump mode, the fan comes on first. A few seconds later, the compressor comes on.
__________________
Dave Rudisill
2004 Beaver Monterey - Fulltiming since August 2002
Denali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 02:21 PM   #7
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denali View Post
We replaced ours in 2012.

The duct on the new Penguin did not quite match the old one, but it was close enough that a little metal tape made an air-tight seal without obstructing any air flow. With two of us working up there, it wasn't too hard.

We replaced the thermostat rather than buying the conversion kit. The new thermostat is somewhat better than the original five-button model. It's programmable (never use that feature) and has a more easily-read display.

One thing that surprised me with the new unit was that when it comes on, in either Cool or Heat Pump mode, the fan comes on first. A few seconds later, the compressor comes on.


Interesting as our original OEM ac/heat pumps have always worked that way: fan on first followed shortly by the compressor. Are you sure your original unit didn't work this way?
__________________
04 Newmar DSDP 4015-Cummins ISL 370hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 02:46 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,430
When I replaced my Carrier Air V with an Advent Air... I did some searching, Two companies make direct replacement Rooftop units for the Carrier Air V.. Advent being one of them.. So Remove ceiling unit,, Remove 4 bolts, Lift off roof top unit, Open control box (part of ceiling unit) replace one connector with another, plug in "Y" cable/adapter (Why Advent could not use the same connector on that "Y" that Carrier used I do not know) and plug in, Replace roof unit, 4 bolts, plug in, ceiling unit and the very same controls work the very same way they did when it was all Carrier.> Very same ceiling unit too..

Only difference, The old 13,500 BTU carrier drew 13.5 amps running.
The new Advent 15,000 BTU also draws 13.5 amps running.

It is, however, harder to do Spring Cleaning.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 04:36 PM   #9
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,130
Do all these thermostat replacements use the existing cable? Replacing the T-stat would be easy. Replacing the cable is a good deal more difficult.

Van W 2000 Dynasty 36 pulling one Harley
Eastern NC
__________________
Vanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 04:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Denali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC2 View Post


Interesting as our original OEM ac/heat pumps have always worked that way: fan on first followed shortly by the compressor. Are you sure your original unit didn't work this way?
Oops.

I meant to say that the compressor comes on first, then the fan. Different than any other AC I have ever had.

I guess it makes some sense in an RV, where voltage often sags under a load. Get the compressor started before imposing the load of the fan. (Pure speculation on my part.)
__________________
Dave Rudisill
2004 Beaver Monterey - Fulltiming since August 2002
Denali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 05:02 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanwill View Post
Do all these thermostat replacements use the existing cable? Replacing the T-stat would be easy. Replacing the cable is a good deal more difficult.

Van W 2000 Dynasty 36 pulling one Harley
Eastern NC
I had both of my 2005 Dometic AC's replaced last year with 2 new Dometic Brisk II units. They had to replace the old thermostat with the new Dometic Thermostat. They used the same wires to connect the new thermostat to the Ac's.
__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 06:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
NorthernDriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mission,B.C.
Posts: 237
New thermostats, wires stapled to the exterior.
__________________
NorthernDriv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Denali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanwill View Post
Do all these thermostat replacements use the existing cable? Replacing the T-stat would be easy. Replacing the cable is a good deal more difficult.

Van W 2000 Dynasty 36 pulling one Harley
Eastern NC
Used the existing wires.
__________________
Dave Rudisill
2004 Beaver Monterey - Fulltiming since August 2002
Denali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 09:24 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
arby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 215
I went through this a year or so ago. If you replace the t stat to work with the new unit then you have to replace the control board in the other unit to work with the new t stat. I opted to go the way Happy Camper went and just replaced the control board in the new unit to work with the old t stat. Made sense to me at the time. Now if and when my other unit fails I will have to do the same thing again.
__________________

__________________
arby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
replace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMI Air Force One versus US Gear Unified Brake System rvMadness Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 23 06-15-2015 09:58 PM
Rooftop A/C Locations for 2 A/C Units Lincolnboy2 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 13 06-26-2014 12:24 AM
Cleaning "Duct" A/C System MikeandClaudia Newmar Owner's Forum 2 03-17-2014 07:19 AM
Rear A/C Issue Koop Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 02-21-2014 07:28 PM
Onboard water system problems at -8 degrees. Full.Monte MH-General Discussions & Problems 16 02-18-2014 06:37 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.