RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2017, 03:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Possum Kingdom Lake Tx.
Posts: 6
Aqua Hot burner switch

New to the RV world. Have a 2001 Monaco Dynasty 10 year anniversary edition. Still trying to figure out everything. Can anyone tell me where the Diesel Burner control switch is. My aquahot switch is by kitchen sink.
Thanks
__________________

lonestarpyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-16-2017, 03:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
saddlesore's Avatar


 
Foretravel Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Salem,Orygun
Posts: 3,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by lonestarpyro View Post
New to the RV world. Have a 2001 Monaco Dynasty 10 year anniversary edition. Still trying to figure out everything. Can anyone tell me where the Diesel Burner control switch is. My aquahot switch is by kitchen sink.
Thanks
Just a WAG..check your main breaker box, should have one possibly two breakers(Main & possibly one for the electric element) for the AH.
Our AH (mdl EXE-100-02s) has a rocker switch for diesel and another for electric @ the galley sink with the main breakers at the foot of our bed, and on the thermostat you have to pick the zone (1 or 2) then set to furnace (or some may say heat or gas),(DO NOT confuse with heat pump, that is in the A/C circuits)
There also may be heat only thermostats in the bathroom and in the basement water control bay.

Which model of AH do you have?

One thing that I suggest is ...IF you do not know for sure when the AH was last serviced..find a AH tec and have it serviced...and STAY AND WATCH Him/Her..ask a lot of questions as well..

AND..Pls list all your info on your signature line,so we know all the pertinent info on your coach & where you call home..
Happy Trails
__________________

__________________
Foretravel with tag axle.
retired truckdriver with 5m miles
Orygun Native
saddlesore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 04:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 717
As Saddlesore said your t-stats control aquahot temp, flip on switch by sink, switch should light up indicating power on, from there switch your t-stats to furnace, set desired temp, and zone, you should be good to go. There is a good description on how to operate Aqua Hot in your Monaco manual.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 06:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 901
With a name like lonestarpyro ya gotta be from here in Tx

Your control panel probably looks like this



As for as I know this is the only switches , the diesel on the left and elect in
the center .
Like others have said there are breakers , relays and thermostats .

Tell us about it , has it worked previously , does it do anything ?

You may not know but on your model ( I think ) the diesel will not come on
if the elect can keep the temp up , so in that case you might try turning
the elect off and then see if the burner comes on after it's had time to
cool down .

To learn about AquaHot go to Roger Berke's site , lots of material there .

RV Hydronic Heater Repair - Home

Ray
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2017, 02:59 PM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 33,681
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Can't answer your question but wanted to say hello! Keep her between the ditches!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!


Merry Christmas!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2017, 03:18 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 33,800
My AquaHot 600D will always start the burner when I first start it, even if I turn on both elements at rhe same time. Once up to temp the burner never comes on if the elements can keep up, but even so the burner runs quite often depending on the temps.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2017, 09:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kamloops, BC. Canada
Posts: 955
Your diesel control switch by the sink....IS....your Ah switch.
Caution.....if it does not light up, it does not mean your AH is
faulty....it could be a burned out bulb in the switch.

You either have 2 or 3 switches.
If you have 2.....one is for the diesel burner and the other is for electric.
When plugged in to shore power, leave both switches "ON".

If you have 3.... one is for diesel burner, one for electric, and one for
engine preheat. Only use preheat when temp is cold and you want to
start your engine. Use preheat at least one to two hours before firing
engine. Once engine is started, turn preheat off.
luckyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 04:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 717
OP must have figured his aqua hot out??
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 12:19 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Possum Kingdom Lake Tx.
Posts: 6
THANKS!!!!

Been hectic here. My bulb is burned out on switch. Heating like a champ now. One other thing, dang rookies!!! When I disconnect shore power does the diesel burner automatically take over or is there a process. Thanks again for everyones help. I'm sure I'll be back plenty. Takin the grandkids to Galveston the 2nd. Gonna be cold here so really needed some heat.
lonestarpyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 01:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,121
Diesel burner will only run if you have the switch turned on. If you have only the electric element on, and you unhook shore power, your coach turns cold !
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 03:00 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 901
From what I understand on the newer AquaHots the elect and diesel are controlled
by one thermostat that tells them when to come on .
The earlier models have 2 thermostats one for elect and one for diesel
The elect comes on first and if it can't keep up with demand then the diesel fires up
you could easily think some thing was wrong with the diesel burner
I'm not at all sure when they changed but I'm pretty sure that
lonestarpyro's coach and my 03 coach have the older set up .

Ray
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 11:10 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Bob&AnnaMari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by lonestarpyro View Post
Been hectic here. My bulb is burned out on switch. Heating like a champ now. One other thing, dang rookies!!! When I disconnect shore power does the diesel burner automatically take over or is there a process. Thanks again for everyones help. I'm sure I'll be back plenty. Takin the grandkids to Galveston the 2nd. Gonna be cold here so really needed some heat.
Short answer: Yes. If your unit is operating correctly, and the "diesel switch" is on, the diesel burner will always come on when needed. Other than the 120 volt heaters that activate when you are plugged into shore power, the whole system is 12 volt based. It does not need any connection to 120 volts.
__________________
2003 Beaver Patriot
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Bob&AnnaMari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 11:17 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 717
Just a thought, if your inverter is on that could drain your batteries if unplugged from shore power and on electric heat.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 11:42 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,121
The electric element wont run on inverter.
__________________

__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two burner induction only good for 1 burner BGDDYRV Newmar Owner's Forum 9 05-24-2017 06:26 AM
Aqua Hot 450 DE1 Diesel Burner Malfunction USAF_VET RV Systems & Appliances 15 12-09-2014 11:19 PM
American Coach: Allegiance 09--Aqua hot diesel burner sporadic jedtoo Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 04-16-2014 01:51 PM
Aspire Aqua-Hot propane burner not firing Kuppajoe Entegra Owner's Forum 12 11-29-2013 07:46 PM
Aqua Hot Diesel Burner/2001 Dynasty jlshand Monaco Owner's Forum 2 12-27-2008 04:32 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.