RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2013, 07:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Jobert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 242
Aqua Hot on 06 dynasty Question

Our Dynasty 42 has the three zone setup. In zone 1, there is a register in the very front of the coach under the radio, and 2 outlets under the couch and 1 more under the cupboards in the kitchen slide. The front register starts and runs automatically when temp calls for it. The registers in the slide are connected to a low/medium/high/off switch. It does not start or shut of automatically. It only starts and shuts off when you press the multiplex switch for low/medium/high/off. It does not seem like a logical installation. Is this normal, or should there also be a thermostatic switch triggering the fans to start and shut off automatically as the front one does, and where would the thermostat be located? New to the Aqua Hot and any help would be appreciated. Thanks for any assistance. Happy Trails Bert
__________________

__________________
2006 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, Residential Refrig, 10KW Onan, Bosch Washer/220V Dryer (previously 2003 American Tradition 40W)
Jobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-20-2013, 07:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TheJeep's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 243
I think on my 06 Dynasty the thermostat turn it on and off. But you can then tun the switch to off low med or high. To adjust the output in the kitchen area. I haven't used heat in awhile so I may be wrong.
__________________

__________________
2019 Grand Design 375 RES-R
2018 Ford F350 DRW CC
TheJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 09:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 996
When we took delivery of our '06 Dynasty at Harrisburg, the tech that was working with us made a modification to fix what you are experiencing. The fan motor under the kitchen sink has three hot wires (high, medium and low) that come from the Intellitec panel module and one neutral or ground wire. The technician ran a pair (?) of wires from the control board on the AquaHot to the area of the fan under the sink. He then put a small relay across those leads and used the contacts from it to open and close the neutral lead coming from the fan motor. At the AquaHot end, he connected it to the terminal board position that powered the circulating pump for zone 1. That way, any time zone 1 calls for heat, the pump starts to circulate the water, and the relay picks up to tie the neutral on the fan through to ground.

You enable the fan speed that you want, and it works off of the thermostat just great. The Intellitec doesn't know if the fan is running or not. It just sends one of three energy sources to the fan motor.

I don't recall for sure. He may have run a single lead, and just used the ground at the fan to complete the control circuit from the AquaHot control panel terminal strip. I actually think that is what he did.

It has worked great for eight years.

73
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Coma's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Emerald Coast
Posts: 1,757
Are they on a separate Zone?
__________________
Jim and Jennie, Cats=Bittles and Potter, 2000 Dynasty 350 ISC
2013 Silverado 4x4 Towed with R1200GS in bed.
PROV23:4 Do not wear yourself out to get rich; have the wisdom to show restraint.
Coma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:34 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jobert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 242
They are both on Zone 1, but it seems strange that they would make it manual switching as indicated by the way it works.

K7JV, that sounds like a good solution I will have to explore, would not be that hard to do, just a lot of disassembly work to get at everything, but have been in there before. So one could leave it set on low, for instance, all the time, and break the ground with the relay, and use the signal from the pump to activate the relay and ground, the power would automatically be on from the intellitec and ready to go. does that seem about right?

Thanks for the help, will have to look at that. Have one other issue to explore but one at a time.

Happy Trails Bert
__________________
2006 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, Residential Refrig, 10KW Onan, Bosch Washer/220V Dryer (previously 2003 American Tradition 40W)
Jobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 996
You are right on, Bert. That is how we do it. I don't know why they didn't control that fan with the same logic as the one under the front console, but they didn't. On ours, we take the stuff out of the under-sink area and the floor just lifts up. It is not screwed down, at all. I've found that to be true with all of the under-sink cupboard areas. It's a little tricky getting it to lift, but the right use of a screwdriver at the door opening generally works.

Monaco really did do a nice job with making everything accessible. The trick is finding the way and the means.

It was pretty easy routing the wire directly up from the AquaHot into the area below the refrigerator and under the drawer that lies under it. Then it was easily routed to the area of the heat exchanger fan. If I remember right, I think he just put the wire under the lug on the control board along with the existing wire to the zone one circulating pump.

Go for it. It won't be that bad of a job.
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 02:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dupdyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Roseville MN sum / La Feria Tx winter
Posts: 765
Remember that they are all different some due to design and some just the way they built that unit.

My 03 Dynasty with 3 zones, has a zone for front in a stat on a cabinet in the kitchen slide and it only runs the front a/c or heat pump or the register in the dash.

Zone 2 the kitchen bathroom and center a/c and the registers in couch, kitchen, and the bathroom. The bathroom has a switch in the bathroom sink for on off of the bathroom register.

Zone one on the stat on the wall in the bedroom is the rear a/c and the registers in the cabinet at the foot of the bed.

The elect in the ah will keep the entire coach warm down to about 50 then it needs the diesel.

Don
__________________
Sheri & Don 2003 Dynasty 42" regal ISL 400
2007 Goldwing Trike Gmc 4X4 w/ autoloader for trike
Lets go we got it all loaded.
Dupdyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Twomed's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by K7JV View Post
You are right on, Bert. That is how we do it. I don't know why they didn't control that fan with the same logic as the one under the front console, but they didn't. On ours, we take the stuff out of the under-sink area and the floor just lifts up. It is not screwed down, at all. I've found that to be true with all of the under-sink cupboard areas. It's a little tricky getting it to lift, but the right use of a screwdriver at the door opening generally works.

Monaco really did do a nice job with making everything accessible. The trick is finding the way and the means.

It was pretty easy routing the wire directly up from the AquaHot into the area below the refrigerator and under the drawer that lies under it. Then it was easily routed to the area of the heat exchanger fan. If I remember right, I think he just put the wire under the lug on the control board along with the existing wire to the zone one circulating pump.

Go for it. It won't be that bad of a job.
And while you have it apart a I/2 inch piece of ethafoam on top of the fan housing will cut the drum noise effect in half.
__________________
Happy Trails,
06 Dynasty Countess III ISL//3060
07 Hummer H3// Suzi 650 Thumper
Twomed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jobert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 242
Thanks folks for the assistance. Got it done today. It did take 2 wires as the board acts as the connection to ground them together, I guess. But it works and thanks so much for the help. Also got Zone 2 working. The pump would run but no heat at either register. A guy on another site suggested to tap the check valve above the circulating pump with a wrench or hammer, and it worked. I was amazed. this is my first experience with the Aqua hot, I have a lot to learn I can see. Thanks again, Happy Trails Bert
__________________
2006 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, Residential Refrig, 10KW Onan, Bosch Washer/220V Dryer (previously 2003 American Tradition 40W)
Jobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 996
Awesome, Bert. Well done! I'm glad that it worked for you, and you were totally successful on all counts. :-) Now go enjoy that great motorhome!
__________________

__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.