RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2018, 07:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 58
Atwood furnace blower

blower on furnace seems to be diming all lights in motorhome, when it shuts off lights come back brighter batteries show full charge and yes it is having troubles lighting always when you get ready to go some where

slowdown
__________________

slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-21-2018, 07:05 AM   #2
2008 Jayco Seneca 35GS
 
2008Seneca's Avatar


 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Grand Canyon State
Posts: 774
Have you checked for clean, tight, connections at the batteries?
__________________

__________________
Always at home wherever we roam.

2008 Jayco Seneca 35GS
2008Seneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 07:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 58
furnace blower

winter storage startup all else working I guess I could take post off and clean but look good Thanks
slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 04:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowdown View Post
blower on furnace seems to be diming all lights in motorhome, when it shuts off lights come back brighter batteries show full charge and yes it is having troubles lighting always when you get ready to go some where

slowdown
Sounds like low battery voltage.

Bob
__________________
Bob, Pam, and Bo our 12 year old Wheaten
Sadly Buffy, our female passed in April at 14.5 years
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2013 Silverado Z71 CrewCab
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 04:51 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 3,324
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
Do you have a battery load tester? Try spinning the squirrel cage by hand to see if it has some resistance, then load test.
__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 07:09 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 58
furnace blower

Quote:
Originally Posted by nodine View Post
Sounds like low battery voltage.

Bob
Hi Bob
I am not sure I did not have a low battery the first day, second day no dim light when it ran but no light first time took two try's then it cycled, going to try again today Thanks

slowdown
slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 07:14 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 58
Hi tmw188
no tester but will spin today to see if it drags Thanks


slowdown
slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 07:22 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 58
Furnace blower

When furnace does not start and it shuts down I get code 3 flashes with book saying ignition lockout, furnace man coming sometime to check Thanks all

slowdown
slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 09:55 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowdown View Post
When furnace does not start and it shuts down I get code 3 flashes with book saying ignition lockout, furnace man coming sometime to check Thanks all

slowdown
If the fan does not produce enough air flow to move the sail switch far enough to close the switch the furnace will not ignite. The blower comes on first to move any residual propane out of the furnace before activating the burner. Low battery voltage or a bad blower motor may not produce the necessary air flow to close the switch.

Bob
__________________
Bob, Pam, and Bo our 12 year old Wheaten
Sadly Buffy, our female passed in April at 14.5 years
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2013 Silverado Z71 CrewCab
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 10:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 3,324
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodine View Post
If the fan does not produce enough air flow to move the sail switch far enough to close the switch the furnace will not ignite. The blower comes on first to move any residual propane out of the furnace before activating the burner. Low battery voltage or a bad blower motor may not produce the necessary air flow to close the switch.



Bob


Is there actually a mechanical sail switch or is it a pressure switch in there?
__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 10:37 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmw188 View Post
Is there actually a mechanical sail switch or is it a pressure switch in there?


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2817.JPG
Views:	42
Size:	386.7 KB
ID:	193240
__________________
Terry & Alice
2006 Bounder 38L DP
2012 GMC Terrain
firedoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 11:49 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 58
furnance blower

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmw188 View Post
Is there actually a mechanical sail switch or is it a pressure switch in there?
Furnace does light and does get hot to the feel and then it shuts off and cools off and shuts off with 3 flash of code light on board code on motor says ignition lockout
slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 06:35 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 3,324
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
Yep a sail switch
__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 12:32 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 58
furnace blower

Thanks to all

Here is what I know found a big mud dobber nest tried hard to clean good with furnace man took igniter out cleaned checked gap 3/16 blowed air and more air, turned on no start second time did start and cycled three time In morning try again to see what happens
Don
__________________

slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, atwood, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vansco output fault - Blower 1, Blower 2, Blower 3 c_oneil Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 2 03-24-2017 08:35 AM
Atwood 8500-IV Furnace Blower Destruction? Berlin Kid MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 09-10-2014 07:07 PM
Atwood Furnace Blower Stays On SamP RV Systems & Appliances 2 03-25-2013 09:11 PM
Replacing Atwood Furnace Blower Motor macstonedude RV Systems & Appliances 5 12-05-2012 01:15 PM
Atwood furnace blower pls49902 RV Systems & Appliances 1 05-16-2012 07:19 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.