RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2016, 05:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 19
Backup camera dead, time for upgrade

My 2000 Executive has a Sony SSM-721AMR backup camera and the monitor is dying.
Can I hook up a new color camera and monitor with the existing wires.
Pulling those wires would be a job.
Help.
__________________

straycatboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-03-2016, 05:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
LJowdy's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 2,234
I had the same problem with my previous coach.. Sony no longer makes back up camera's. RV Cams in Baton Rouge are fantastic people to work with. They have adapters so you can use your Sony cable and hook up another unit.
Give them a call, you won't be disappointed

RV Cams: Sony Backup Camera Systems (and Parts)
__________________

__________________
2016 Newmar Dutch Star 4369
Newmar Owners Club
USAF 1966-1969,- Law Enforcement 1969 - 2003, Unemployed (retired) since March 2003
LJowdy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 06:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
c92vette's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 386
You can splice into the existing wiring as long as you have at least 4 wires in the bundle for a color camera. 3 wires are for the color signal (Red, Green, Blue) and 1 wire is for return or ground. You cannot ground through the chassis like normal electric power. If you have 5 wires available the last one is for the audio feed if so equipped. Just make sure you match color to color on each end. You can find equipment on the market that is just as good as Sony for a lot cheaper.
__________________
Steve n' Tammy with Ella Mae the "Shippet" in a 2003 Fleetwood Bounder 32' on a Ford F53 Chassis and a V-10 gasser pulling a 2013 Ford Edge on a EZE Tow Dolly
c92vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 08:42 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 19
I have 4 wires but they are , audio, 12v power, video and ground., per the Sony manual.
Does this mean I can't get color with these wires?
straycatboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 04:35 AM   #5
Senior Member


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4,490
straycatboat-

No need to guess- Tim at RVCams will answer any question you have. He knew, for example, that I needed two cables to adapt our coach's camera to a Garmin RV 760LMT GPS, and that one of them should be (for reliability) an authentic Garmin cable.

As "LJowdy" said: "Give them a call, you won't be disappointed."
__________________
Mark
2008 Holiday Rambler Admiral 30PDD (Ford F-53 chassis)
2009 Honda Fit Sport
l1v3fr33ord1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 08:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
VanDiemen23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,109
there are so many different standards for video.

the guy above, in describing the RGB system, was referring to component video.

Far more common is composite video, which only uses one shielded cable. The signals are all combined together. Black and white is just missing one of the frequency components, which take up more bandwidth. A color camera using composite video should work fine unless it's a really crappy cable, in which case the color will get distorted.

Wikipedia is your friend....
VanDiemen23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 08:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 36
The backup camera in my 2009 Dynasty stopped displaying and then passenger camera quit displaying....long story short in that I tracked down the source of the problem to be the video controller. The video controller was located in the dashboard access panel right above the steering wheel and was easy to access and replace. Monaco has these controllers in stock for about $125.00.....much cheaper than replacing cameras.

While researching this problem I contacted various companies and was frequently told that I had to bring in the coach for them to "re-wire and install a different brand on controller"..... Was quite pleased to find that Monaco parts hathe exact controller I needed and it was ony $125.00 and EASY to install and all cameras work & display perfectly.

Hope this helps you with your problems.
Gary LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 10:38 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
photopilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 368
Before you go spend the time and hassle to replace the cam, make sure it's just not a corroded connection. My Weldex stopped working not long after I picked up my new to me rig. I was ready to replace it when I read on here that it could just be the connections. It turns out I had one long cable from the camera to the front, and once I identified the correct wire under the dash, I just had to plug and unplug it a few times and it worked great for about 6 months. Now I moved the wire so I just have to remove the top dash access cover (4 screws) and do the plug and unplug thing from there if it starts getting flaky. The connector doesn't look corroded, so I suspect the tension in the connector pins is lacking. Since it works for months at a time, I haven't taken the time to really troubleshoot the issue.

Good luck!

Walt

Walt
__________________
Walt & Bonnie
2006 Monaco Camelot 40PAQ, Cummins 400 ISL
'16 Ford C-Max, Roadmaster BP, Sterling towbar
photopilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 06:41 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
RDGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 26
The Weldex in my Monaco didn't work when I got the coach. I took the connections loose front and rear and could not get it to work although the up/down of the camera and audio would work. I ordered the color monitor and camera from RV Cams and used the same cable from the b/w system. Works fine except for the static noise on the audio. I was told it needed a filter. I just keep the volume turned down.
__________________
2005 Monaco Monarch SE 30PDD F53 chassis V10
RDGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 08:51 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
StevieG's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Milton, NY
Posts: 923
ATVresearch.com sells the same video products as RV Cams only a lot cheaper. Check them out...
__________________
Steve & Beth - Milton, New York
2009 Monaco Diplomat 41 SKQ
2016 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
StevieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 09:09 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 241
I believe that Rear View Safety has adaptors and systems you can use to solve this problem.....

Adapters - Backup Camera Accessories - Backup Camera Systems - Our Products

Let us know what you end up doing!
__________________

RV_Fan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera, upgrade



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried using Home security camera system as backup camera before? Victoreric Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 12-29-2015 09:00 PM
Upgrade backup camera system. jsides Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 01-17-2015 04:45 AM
Harbor Freight Camera system as a backup camera RLD_999 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 08-11-2014 03:04 PM
Backup Camera Upgrade? CaptMark RV Systems & Appliances 1 04-26-2011 03:11 PM
Upgrade b/w screen / backup camera flashajt Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 10-10-2007 11:26 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×