RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2015, 01:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
md99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Bathroom GFI Plug in on my 99 Diplomat

Bathroom GFI Plug in on my 99 Diplomat
Hi there, could anyone help me with this. I recently purchased this beautiful bus and the only problem I seem to have is that my GFI plug above my bathroom sing keeps tripping (wont stay on). I have now discovered that this plug rules many others including my tv's.... could anyone offer some trouble shooting advise? would be much appreciated.
I have recently bought a new GFI plug in hoping that the old one may just be weak.
Thank you
__________________

md99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-13-2015, 02:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,921
If the refrigerator is daisy chained in the same GFI circuit, it could be a shorting out heating element in the fridge. I'd unplug everything plugged in to the outlets controlled by that GFI and then try to reset it. If it stays on, start plugging things back in, one at a time until it trips.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 03:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Signal Hill, California
Posts: 3,317
Install the new one. Sanford
__________________
Sanford, Linda & R cats: Molly, Levi, Cody
2011 Monaco by Navistar RV
Good Sam Life Member Good Sam Hams Chapter
deSanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 04:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Roaming Fulltimer
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post
I'd unplug everything plugged in to the outlets controlled by that GFI and then try to reset it. If it stays on, start plugging things back in, one at a time until it trips.

This was going to be my recommendation as well. Happened to me some time ago and it ended up being one of the entertainment system components not plugged in firmly.
tkcas01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 04:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 116
The GFCI in the bathroom on my coach was tripping and it fell apart when I removed it. They used the push in connectors and it looked like it had been arching and the case was cracked. When I installed the new one I used the screw on connections. Four years and still no problems. Be sure you match the new with the old outlet. Mine was a 20 amp. Not sure if the 99's were 15 amp. or 20 amp.
__________________
2006 Diplomat 40DST
2014 Honda CR-V
justlou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 06:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Lued's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 486
They go bad, Mine was smoking, Installed a new one.
__________________
2001 Monaco Diplomat 8.3 40ft, 1999 Jeep Cherokee
IA summers, Parker Dam CA winters.
Lued is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 09:09 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
TonyMac's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 2,878
Yep, GFIs go bad from use and vibration. Mine went out completely on our last trip and it took all the downstream plugs with it -- which is all the plugs forward of the latrine. Swapped out the GFI, everything works, wife thinks I'm a genius.
__________________
Cheers,
TonyMac
2006 Monaco Safari Cheetah 40PMT
TonyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 09:41 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,921
I'm cheap, and cautious. To just replace suspected GFI might mask a more dangerous condition. I'd do as I suggested above in post #2. If the GFI is working, you'll discover what downstream outlet is tripping it. If nothing turns up, then you could replace the GFI outlet. To replace without checking to see if it's working is a waste of money and could hide a bad connection or potential shock or fire hazard.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 09:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
rjsupersonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 609
You can get a cheap 7 dollar GFI tester at a hardware store.
__________________
2007 National Sea Breeze
rjsupersonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 09:33 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
adamfolger's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MotherLoad foothills approx.60 m.s east of Sacramento
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by deSanford View Post
Install the new one. Sanford
X2, cheap simple fix first...
__________________
Full time since Nov 2012 RVM#41 Gary and Marian Hill 2001 Monaco Dynasty Jack 38' 370 hp ....If it ain't broke I can still fix it.
Like putting shoes on an octopuss, so are the days of our lives....
adamfolger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 01:57 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
sirpurrcival's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamfolger View Post
X2, cheap simple fix first...
X3. If the GFI continues to trip after the replacement, then you know you have a more serious problem but given how some of the wiring on these vehicles seems to have been designed by Chef Boy R Dee, finding all the downstream connections can sometimes be a challenge. One that you might not need to undertake if changing the GFI solves the issue.
__________________
1999 - National Tropi Cal
sirpurrcival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
VegasFoodGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by justlou View Post
The GFCI in the bathroom on my coach was tripping and it fell apart when I removed it. They used the push in connectors and it looked like it had been arching and the case was cracked. When I installed the new one I used the screw on connections. Four years and still no problems. Be sure you match the new with the old outlet. Mine was a 20 amp. Not sure if the 99's were 15 amp. or 20 amp.
Where did you buy the replacement GFI? I have tried all the simple fixes, time to replace.
Thanks,
Terry.
VegasFoodGuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 10:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by VegasFoodGuy View Post
Where did you buy the replacement GFI? I have tried all the simple fixes, time to replace.
Thanks,
Terry.
They're available at any home improvement store, hardware store, etc. Also available at Amazon, or lots of other on line stores.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 07:41 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Before you spend money INSIDE the RV, check one thing OUTSIDE.

You said it rules many other outlets (Kitchen, Dining Table and PATIO are always among them) Any outlet where you may find water in fact.

Check the patio outlet to insure that water has not gotten into the box and caused your problem.

THEN: if dry: Re-seal the cover and see above replies.
IF wet: Dry, replace outlet, re-seal cover, and test GFCI

NOTE also: A GFCI will NOT reset if the circuit breaker feeding it is tripped.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 Power stroke glow plug issues 2000 Damon Powerstroke Engine Forum 10 01-01-2015 01:00 PM
Vortec 8.1 Radiator Drain Plug Drifterpilot Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 8 10-29-2014 07:42 AM
Coach Electric Plug Melted? Mrfoto Class C Motorhome Discussions 2 06-14-2014 10:41 PM
50 amp male plug replacement Smsudad RV Systems & Appliances 15 06-07-2014 06:34 PM
50 amp plug tbbg II Newmar Owner's Forum 7 07-10-2013 08:10 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×