RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-08-2019, 11:35 PM   #1

Batteries float too early

Hey guys, I am at it again, I know. I tried looking into this and I called xantrex about this and I am calling them again. I am boon docking the most on this trip and I have been tweeting my system for about 4 years now.

Whether I am on shore power or generator charging, the xantrex (trace) SW2512MC inverter puts my batteries in float at about 80% capacity.

I have 4 6V 220ah AGM Lifeline batteries in series parallel, 12.5 kw onan generator and a trimetric battery monitor.

The trimetric battery monitor gives out a percent of battery which after a day or two becomes inaccurate. Lifeline hates them and encouraged me to go by voltage. But it also has AH from full. So if you are on shore power for a day or so, the batteries will stop charging and you can reset the trimetric to 100% and 0 ah from full. There is no doubt the batteries are topped off.

The inverter puts the charge into float at about 100 amps from full. That is about 80% capacity (12.5 volts).

I have 440 AH capacity, 220ah available but if my batteries only charge up to 80%, I only have about 120ah that I can use and I am having to start my generator every early evening and then again sometimes before bed. And then every morning so my new DC frig doesn't shut down at 12.2V. My husband watches TV at night.

Is there anyway to keep the charge bulking to at least 95% before it goes to float? What am I doing wrong now....

thank you
moira
ps I have a number of updates to post on the DC frig and other things coming soon.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!