RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2019, 02:01 PM   #1
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,394
Better headlight switch?

I've already replaced my headlight switch twice over the last few years and it's intermittent again. Does anyone have recommendations for a better quality switch than the Cole Hersee 71092-02BX that I have been using?
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-07-2019, 02:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,168
Research the switch your using. Some are 15 amp and others are 20 amp.

You can also get a 30 amp Bosch type relay and have it power the headlights. That takes some load off the switch.
__________________

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 02:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,097
Hi Joe; I think that you can get an AC Delco switch also as a replacement. I thought I wrote the number for that switch but all I have is the number you posted for the Cole Hersee switch. Since that switch was for a G.M pickup truck I am going to guess that G.M. used a G.M. part. Who knows! I find it hard sometimes on replacement parts to find where they are manufactured. Just a suggestion, see if you can find the cross over number from the Cole Hersee to the AC Delco. See on the box where it is made. It is possible that both would be made in the same place. I would try a NAPA store and talk to the counterman or counterwomen and see what info you can get. I hate replacing the same part over and over again because of poor quality so I know what you are dealing with. Good luck on your third try!
8.3Oilbuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 03:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,983
I had a similar problem last month, and happycarz suggested AC Delco D1588. Wouldn't be surprised if they're all the same but come in a different box, tho.

Using a relay sounds like a solution, too.
__________________
2008 Camelot 40’ PDQ
RustyTools is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 06:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rschreifels's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Weber, UT
Posts: 104
Convert to a relay; your switch should last forever and your lights should be brighter!
__________________
2005 Monaco Cayman 36PDQ
Toads: 2018 Equinox, 2008 HHR or 1993 S10 with ATV in bed
rschreifels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 07:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by rschreifels View Post
Convert to a relay; your switch should last forever and your lights should be brighter!
What he said, :-)

I did and now I don't have any problems
__________________
Full Time from 12-15-18 - Still Working :-(
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe 5" dia Exhaust
431 HP 1296 T...11+ MPG 2005 Pilot TOAD + 2 E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
veraken's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,646
This is the switch I used

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
Vera & Ken
1998 Holiday Rambler Imperial, RR8S Chassis
Cummins 6C8.3 mechanical engine, 325HP, 3060 Allison
Towing 2014 Ford Explorer
veraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 07:15 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,983
Doing a google, that switch is also referenced for use in a lot of vehicles, including a 1968 Chevy P20 van.

Looks identical to the Standard Parts DS-205 I ended-up with, too.


Why re-invent the wheel, I guess.
__________________
2008 Camelot 40’ PDQ
RustyTools is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:36 AM   #9
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by veraken View Post
What about the shaft and knob?
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,097
Good morning Joe; I would guess that when you replaced your previous bad headlight switches you reused the shaft and knob that was removed from the switch. Unless the knob breaks for some reason, there would be no need to replace that part. If for some reason the shaft is bent or the knob broke I think I saw those parts either on Amazon or eBay. Not 100% sure. Hope you get a switch that lasts or go over to the relay systems as other here have posted. Have a great Sunday! Also the shaft and knob is not part of the switch assembly, as far as I know! Those are separate parts!
8.3Oilbuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 01:55 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,983
If you haven't already replaced the switch and knob, please look at posts 11 & 13 from here Headlight Switch Info Needed .
__________________
2008 Camelot 40’ PDQ
RustyTools is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 07:36 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
veraken's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
What about the shaft and knob?
See above replys. If you can't use your old one, here's a replacement.

https://www.amazon.com/Omix-Ada-1331...S987F50Q9DZ36Q
__________________
Vera & Ken
1998 Holiday Rambler Imperial, RR8S Chassis
Cummins 6C8.3 mechanical engine, 325HP, 3060 Allison
Towing 2014 Ford Explorer
veraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 10:39 AM   #13
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8.3Oilbuner View Post
Good morning Joe; I would guess that when you replaced your previous bad headlight switches you reused the shaft and knob that was removed from the switch. Unless the knob breaks for some reason, there would be no need to replace that part. If for some reason the shaft is bent or the knob broke I think I saw those parts either on Amazon or eBay. Not 100% sure. Hope you get a switch that lasts or go over to the relay systems as other here have posted. Have a great Sunday! Also the shaft and knob is not part of the switch assembly, as far as I know! Those are separate parts!
The Cole Hersee switch includes the shaft and knob.
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 02:08 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Mutt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 360
Joe, how much trouble did you Have getting your shaft out of the Headlight switch. I tried to push the small button on the bottom of the switch but the shaft fails to be released? Is there another release that I am missing?
__________________

__________________
2002 Monaco Diplomat Triple Slide PST
2011 Buick Enclave(AWD);
1970 Home built 11.5 ft Slide-in Cabover
Mutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
headlight, light, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
18 DS adding additional Kitchen KIB Switch, better location Stuart W Newmar Owner's Forum 25 08-23-2018 02:39 PM
Cant get old headlight stem to fit into new headlight switch CountryB Monaco Owner's Forum 3 04-18-2018 07:03 AM
Life Gets Better and Better Saltydog44 Entegra Owner's Forum 1 12-15-2015 04:44 PM
Jake brake: Better, but how much better? Roamin Mike Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 11-28-2015 10:44 PM
Bryce Caynon report - better late than better. gazingm42 Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 11 07-07-2014 05:06 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×