Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2015, 01:34 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Harrisburg, SD
Posts: 7
Brake controller question??

I have a 2005 Monaco Diplomat and want to add a brake controller but my coach was not prewired with the blue wire running to the trailer receptacle. I was wondering if anyone has run that wire and if so how difficult was it and where did you come into the coach? Any help or ideas would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
RonaldAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-29-2015, 04:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonaldAG View Post
I have a 2005 Monaco Diplomat and want to add a brake controller but my coach was not prewired with the blue wire running to the trailer receptacle. I was wondering if anyone has run that wire and if so how difficult was it and where did you come into the coach? Any help or ideas would be appreciated.
Hello , and Welcome here
I ran into just this years ago, I thought about wiring it, but then found this controller https://www.etrailer.com/Brake-Contr...sha/90250.html , simple to set up, other vehicle's can tow the trailer without a controller, cab controller just plugs into the cig. lighter. works super!
__________________

__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 05:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,825
Have not run that wire, have run a lot of others though.

how hard depends on the ground clearance,

How to rout it depends on the coach,, There are usually existig holes in the bulkhead/firewall you can snake an additional wire through (Grommets, next to the steering column, or another wiring harness) or you can drill a hole and grommet it DO USE A GROMMET or some other means of preventing the wire from chafing on the metal (Adhesive/Sealant).

Then simply follow the frame rail, Odds are you can slip into existing cable supports.

Of course this means you need to be able to work UNDER the RV,, Mine, that's easy,, The DP across the drive from me.. not so much.

HOWEVER, with cars.. I would occasionally park atop a ditch (on a dry day) and then I could crawl along the ditch to work under it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 12:23 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Harrisburg, SD
Posts: 7
I saw the wireless controller and that is an option but would rather do it wired. I guess I just have to raise it up and see if I fit under it to run the wire.
__________________
RonaldAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 09:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
walt2137's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 2,657
Ronald you should have a bundle of pre run wires somewhere in the coach , check the compartment to the left of the driver then under the dash, I have also found Pre run wires under the roof panels in the storage compartments.
__________________
Walt & Will
2000 Dynasty
2013 F150 XLT Crew C 4X4
2015 Kia Soul 6 speed manual
walt2137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 11:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 353
Remember Monaco breaks the ground for the brake lights and the exhaust brake activates the brake lights as well. Use the Hays air to electric switch to activate your controller. You can get one on Amazon
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 04:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 467
I have a 98 Monaco Dynasty and I put a trailer brake controller in it. I found
a conduit running through the centre of the coach and I fished the wire
through it and it works great
__________________

__________________
oldguy70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake controller denbob4369 Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 8 01-01-2015 06:46 PM
Brake Controller Issue JDT Excel Owner's Forum 11 10-18-2014 11:36 AM
Brake controller recommendations g-cando National RV Owner's Forum 4 10-05-2014 09:25 AM
Ford E450 brake Controller wiring problem farmerfred43 Boondocking 1 08-09-2014 10:07 PM
Canyon Star brake controller connection RussM311 Newmar Owner's Forum 1 06-05-2014 11:04 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.