RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2008, 03:40 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
UPS 34's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Frederick Md.
Posts: 453
I have a 2007 Camelot. Will the Brake lights come on when the exhaust brake is on and slowing the unit down?
__________________

__________________
2007 Monaco Camelot 40 PAQ
2007 JK 4Door Jeep
UPS 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-16-2008, 03:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
UPS 34's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Frederick Md.
Posts: 453
I have a 2007 Camelot. Will the Brake lights come on when the exhaust brake is on and slowing the unit down?
__________________

__________________
2007 Monaco Camelot 40 PAQ
2007 JK 4Door Jeep
UPS 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 03:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
beaverjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Punta Gorda Fl
Posts: 785
ups34, ours does! but it is an 02 beaver built by monaco! jim.
__________________
Jim & Sue
2017 Cambria/Aspect30j
2012 Turbo Beetle
beaverjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 03:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
arby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 215
And mine do on my 07 Diplomat
arby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 04:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Sixpack98's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,264
So does ours on an '06 Endeavor. I think most, if not all, of Monaco's lineup do as well
__________________
Dawn and Mark

06 HR Endeavor 40 PET
Sixpack98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 06:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
loranimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fallon - NV / St.Paul Island AK
Posts: 316
Mine does too!
__________________
Carl & Barb - 2006 Monaco Signature - Commander
loranimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:08 PM   #7
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,098
Mine dosen't, Monaco missed a connection and after hours of searching, it couldn't be corrected. The downside to this is that I wanted to install the "Brakeswitch" for the cruise control/exhaust brake override and it won't work without the brake lights coming on.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:43 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
DipD...Are you saying that because the brake lights won't come on...the "Brakeswitch" will not work on your rig? It has been a busy day at work...and my brain might be a little fuzzy..but I wanted to make sure I understood it correctly....

MM



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 04:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Robin_M's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,833
Blog Entries: 2
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Diplomat Don:
The downside to this is that I wanted to install the "Brakeswitch" for the cruise control/exhaust brake override and it won't work without the brake lights coming on. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Don,

At first I thought that it shouldn't matter for the BrakeSwitch. But thinking further, you are correct. The BrakeSwitch gets its power (to keep the two relays inside closed) from the brake lamp circuit. So without the lamps staying on while the exhaust brake is on, the exhuast brake would turn off as soon as you lift your foot of the brake pedal. What you want, of course, is for it to stay on until you touch the throttle.
__________________
Rob.......Links to coaches below
New (to us) 2016 Tiffin Allegro Bus 45 OP
2017 & 2007 Monaco Diplomat Sites
Robin_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 04:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,665
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Diplomat Don:
...I wanted to install the "Brakeswitch" for the cruise control/exhaust brake override and it won't work without the brake lights coming on. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Don, have you checked into having your coach reprogrammed for the 'Latch' mode? This mode operates the exhaust brake essentially identical to the Brake Switch. Check with Cummins to see if they offer this mode. I had mine repgrogrammed by my CAT dealer. Takes 5 minutes.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 05:34 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Robin_M's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,833
Blog Entries: 2
Pusherman,

I've read posts in several forums that said for the Cummins engines the "Latch Mode" only works for the engine brake and not for the exhaust brake. I don't know if it's true or not. A call to Cummins should verify it, though.
__________________

__________________
Rob.......Links to coaches below
New (to us) 2016 Tiffin Allegro Bus 45 OP
2017 & 2007 Monaco Diplomat Sites
Robin_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake lights without Exhaust brake Roadking Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 9 06-05-2012 01:07 PM
Engine Brake, Exhaust Brake again, sorry! redeldo Monaco Owner's Forum 11 03-03-2008 01:14 PM
Exhaust Brake rayt1 Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 9 07-23-2006 07:27 AM
Exhaust Brake Bill & Micki Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 9 08-23-2005 01:13 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×