RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2019, 05:04 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 333
Fresh Water Pump runs Continuous

The fresh water pump runs continuous when electric power is applied, I have to disconnect the wires at the pump to shut it off.. The pump switch ( rocker style ) in the coach does not work as the pump still continues to run. The running light on the panel does not light up either with the pump running. Will this mean installing a new rocker switch and light switch on the panel ? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rv fresh water control panel.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	256672  
__________________

__________________
Chuck and Robbin Harrison....plus 2 PB and a G Pyrenees Max,Zenie and Smokie ! 1998 38' Monaco Dynasty Duke with a 8.3 Cummins. Everyday truck is a 2010 F150 XLT 4x4 and 2016 Ford Escape. TOAD is 2004 VW Bug Conv.
Migkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-12-2019, 06:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Migkiller View Post
The fresh water pump runs continuous when electric power is applied, I have to disconnect the wires at the pump to shut it off.. The pump switch ( rocker style ) in the coach does not work as the pump still continues to run. The running light on the panel does not light up either with the pump running. Will this mean installing a new rocker switch and light switch on the panel ? Thanks
A shorted switch is possible, and can be determined by pulling one wire off the connections on the back of the switch. However before you start pulling things apart you may find, as I did, that there is more than one switch inn parallel.

I had a similar situation on my water pump and the best thing I did was to get a wiring diagram of the water system in my RV and start tracing it.

It turns out that my water pump has an enable switch in the +12v side and there were three in parallel - one in the toilet area (with a label), the second near the kitchen sink (with a label) and the third on the wall by the shower (no label and it looked like a light switch).

So the pump was enabled when any of those switches was on. The pump ran until the water pressure built up and the pressure switch (mounted on the pump body) opened... and the pressure switch is wired in the negative lead of the pump.

So I found two problems: that the unlabeled +12v switch by the shower was on and the negative lead of the pump had abraded against a mounting screw and was shorting to ground.

Once I had identified all the parts (and the wiring between them) the fix was obvious: turn off the shower switch (AND LABEL IT) and relocate the negative lead of the pump (away from the screw) and put some electrical tape over the abraded area.

One of the items on my to-do list is to add a indicator LED to the pump circuit. The switch in the kitchen area has a convenient ground adjacent to it so that is where it will be. I am going to replace the switch with a new similar switch that has a built-in green LED. That will provide an indication that one of the other two switches has been left on.

In your case the pump may be running continuously because it can't build up pressure... maybe there's a shorted pressure switch, or a short in the wiring (like I had), maybe there's there's no water getting to the pump and it can't build up pressure, or maybe there;s a broken water tubing preventing hte pressure from building... (in that case you'd see a wet spot somewhere).

Mike
__________________

__________________
Semi-retired electronics / computer / network / 2-way-radio / amateur radio... (WA6ILQ)
1985 Fleetwood 32' Southwind (Chev P30/454/TH400), dubbed "Lazarus" by friends... I resurrected it from the dead...
AnotherMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 06:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 17,327
If the pump runs all the time when there are no faucets/outlets running, or broken piping, the pump head and/or shut-off device is faulty, otherwise it will build to cut-off pressure and stop running. It doesn't matter if there is a wiring short, the pump-pressure cut-off device will disconnect 12V unless it is broken.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG 11B5MX retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA." My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country. John F. Kennedy
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 06:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Clear Lake, TX
Posts: 168
If yours is like mine, those switches are momentary contact, right? If thatís the case, they donít control the +12v side of the pump, they each ground a terminal on a pump controller. Which then supplies voltage to the pump.
Sounds to me like you have two problems: 1- your pump controller isnít breaking power to the pump
And 2-the pump is failing and isnít creating enough pressure to trip the pressure switch
Cheers
Walter
__________________
2003 Monaco Dynasty 42 Regal.
wamcneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 07:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by wamcneil View Post
If yours is like mine, those switches are momentary contact, right? If thatís the case, they donít control the +12v side of the pump, they each ground a terminal on a pump controller. Which then supplies voltage to the pump.
Sounds to me like you have two problems: 1- your pump controller isnít breaking power to the pump
And 2-the pump is failing and isnít creating enough pressure to trip the pressure switch
Cheers
Walter
Correct...the rocker pump switch is momentary in each direction pushed. I do have the wiring diagrams, so hopefully it will show the controller. Not sure where its located though. Thanks
__________________
Chuck and Robbin Harrison....plus 2 PB and a G Pyrenees Max,Zenie and Smokie ! 1998 38' Monaco Dynasty Duke with a 8.3 Cummins. Everyday truck is a 2010 F150 XLT 4x4 and 2016 Ford Escape. TOAD is 2004 VW Bug Conv.
Migkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 08:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
If the pump runs all the time when there are no faucets/outlets running, or broken piping, the pump head and/or shut-off device is faulty, otherwise it will build to cut-off pressure and stop running. It doesn't matter if there is a wiring short, the pump-pressure cut-off device will disconnect 12V unless it is broken.
Thanks..I am thinking I have a bad pump by your description. But I may also have a bad pump controller also.
__________________
Chuck and Robbin Harrison....plus 2 PB and a G Pyrenees Max,Zenie and Smokie ! 1998 38' Monaco Dynasty Duke with a 8.3 Cummins. Everyday truck is a 2010 F150 XLT 4x4 and 2016 Ford Escape. TOAD is 2004 VW Bug Conv.
Migkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 08:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherMike View Post
A shorted switch is possible, and can be determined by pulling one wire off the connections on the back of the switch. However before you start pulling things apart you may find, as I did, that there is more than one switch inn parallel.

I had a similar situation on my water pump and the best thing I did was to get a wiring diagram of the water system in my RV and start tracing it.

It turns out that my water pump has an enable switch in the +12v side and there were three in parallel - one in the toilet area (with a label), the second near the kitchen sink (with a label) and the third on the wall by the shower (no label and it looked like a light switch).

So the pump was enabled when any of those switches was on. The pump ran until the water pressure built up and the pressure switch (mounted on the pump body) opened... and the pressure switch is wired in the negative lead of the pump.

So I found two problems: that the unlabeled +12v switch by the shower was on and the negative lead of the pump had abraded against a mounting screw and was shorting to ground.

Once I had identified all the parts (and the wiring between them) the fix was obvious: turn off the shower switch (AND LABEL IT) and relocate the negative lead of the pump (away from the screw) and put some electrical tape over the abraded area.

One of the items on my to-do list is to add a indicator LED to the pump circuit. The switch in the kitchen area has a convenient ground adjacent to it so that is where it will be. I am going to replace the switch with a new similar switch that has a built-in green LED. That will provide an indication that one of the other two switches has been left on.

In your case the pump may be running continuously because it can't build up pressure... maybe there's a shorted pressure switch, or a short in the wiring (like I had), maybe there's there's no water getting to the pump and it can't build up pressure, or maybe there;s a broken water tubing preventing hte pressure from building... (in that case you'd see a wet spot somewhere).

Mike
Thanks. I will have to get my wiring diagram out tomorrow and wring some wires ! Someone posted I may have a controller involved, so will look for it tomorrow.
__________________
Chuck and Robbin Harrison....plus 2 PB and a G Pyrenees Max,Zenie and Smokie ! 1998 38' Monaco Dynasty Duke with a 8.3 Cummins. Everyday truck is a 2010 F150 XLT 4x4 and 2016 Ford Escape. TOAD is 2004 VW Bug Conv.
Migkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 11:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Migkiller View Post
Thanks. I will have to get my wiring diagram out tomorrow and wring some wires ! Someone posted I may have a controller involved, so will look for it tomorrow.
Well, my coach is a mid-80s and has simple wiring and simple systems. Yours is much newer and I'll defer to those that have knowledge on the newer systems.

Mike
__________________
Semi-retired electronics / computer / network / 2-way-radio / amateur radio... (WA6ILQ)
1985 Fleetwood 32' Southwind (Chev P30/454/TH400), dubbed "Lazarus" by friends... I resurrected it from the dead...
AnotherMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 04:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 333
So I just remembered I also have the same switch assembly in the wet service bay. I went and looked at both system switch assemblies. Then traced the wire bundles but couldn't find where they terminated !!! So I did a forum search on where the controller is located. Found a thread for a 98 Dynasty....and to my good fortune they said it is behind the Zantrex info panel above the co-pilots seat. So tomorrow I will go and see if thats where it is at and if so order up some new relays.
__________________
Chuck and Robbin Harrison....plus 2 PB and a G Pyrenees Max,Zenie and Smokie ! 1998 38' Monaco Dynasty Duke with a 8.3 Cummins. Everyday truck is a 2010 F150 XLT 4x4 and 2016 Ford Escape. TOAD is 2004 VW Bug Conv.
Migkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 02:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Stan&Jacquie's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 751
Monaco, over the years put the Intellitec controller box in many different places but as a general rule they are shall placed close to the water pump. Mine ( 2007 Knight DFT) had the control placed high in water bay on the right.
__________________
Stan & Jacquie
2007 Monaco Knight DFT 40'
2012 Equinox w/Air Force I, Blue Ox Alpha & Base, 600 Watts Solar.
Stan&Jacquie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 11:35 AM   #11
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 1,935
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Pump running all the time is usually because the city water fill valve is open...pump never builds enough pressure to shut off automatically.

The pump latching relay is usually close to the pump plus a 1” square relay that it controls. Before replacing the expensive latching rel, replace the inexpensive 1” square one first.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
04 Dynasty 42í Sold in 2018 after 14 great years.
My ĒNewĒ ride...08 HR Navigator 45í
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 07:39 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivylog View Post
Pump running all the time is usually because the city water fill valve is open...pump never builds enough pressure to shut off automatically.

The pump latching relay is usually close to the pump plus a 1Ē square relay that it controls. Before replacing the expensive latching rel, replace the inexpensive 1Ē square one first.
I have a bad controller. Which I found behind the Xantrex info control panel above the passengers seat. I have a new controller on the way and will install when I get back home next week.
__________________
Chuck and Robbin Harrison....plus 2 PB and a G Pyrenees Max,Zenie and Smokie ! 1998 38' Monaco Dynasty Duke with a 8.3 Cummins. Everyday truck is a 2010 F150 XLT 4x4 and 2016 Ford Escape. TOAD is 2004 VW Bug Conv.
Migkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 07:41 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan&Jacquie View Post
Monaco, over the years put the Intellitec controller box in many different places but as a general rule they are shall placed close to the water pump. Mine ( 2007 Knight DFT) had the control placed high in water bay on the right.
Thanks. Mine is located behind the Xantrex control panel above the passengers seat. New controller is in the mail !
__________________

__________________
Chuck and Robbin Harrison....plus 2 PB and a G Pyrenees Max,Zenie and Smokie ! 1998 38' Monaco Dynasty Duke with a 8.3 Cummins. Everyday truck is a 2010 F150 XLT 4x4 and 2016 Ford Escape. TOAD is 2004 VW Bug Conv.
Migkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fresh water, water, water pump



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator that runs off water from your fresh water tank. WorkRVing Just Conversation 56 07-22-2016 05:34 PM
Water pump runs.... and runs....and runs tobysdad RV Systems & Appliances 8 10-19-2011 08:13 PM
Water pump runs when the water runs out Bruce and Jenna RV Systems & Appliances 9 04-28-2008 09:06 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.