RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2019, 04:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 100
Front Slides do not come in

Having a little bit of trouble before we leave for a trip on Friday.

The front two slide outs are not moving for some reason. I checked all of the documentation and I've done everything it says.

Make sure nothing is inhibiting the slides
start the engine and bring the coach to ride height then turn off the engine because the slide outs don't work with the key in.

I checked the motor brake switches underneath each slide out.

I checked the slide out motor breaker in the front under the driver seat.

They don't seem to have any power. The batteries are fully charged and the inverter is on.

What's weird is the bedroom slide-out works fine.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
03 Monaco Windsor, just in front of:
a Dodge Durango, or on occasion, a Toyota Prius
SegwayGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-14-2019, 05:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5,351
The controller for my front slide is in the rear passenger side electrical bay. There is a 5 amp fuse that will blow, its done it on mine ~3 times. No idea why fuse blows but I just replace and all is good.

The other thing may be that one of your basement doors in not fully closed. There is an inhibitor switch for each door and if it senses that the door is not open it won't let the slide work. One of my doors will cause the slide not to come in, go out and open and slam the door and the slide works.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
The controller for my front slide is in the rear passenger side electrical bay. There is a 5 amp fuse that will blow, its done it on mine ~3 times. No idea why fuse blows but I just replace and all is good.

The other thing may be that one of your basement doors in not fully closed. There is an inhibitor switch for each door and if it senses that the door is not open it won't let the slide work. One of my doors will cause the slide not to come in, go out and open and slam the door and the slide works.
What model do you have? I checked that fuse, I think. Mine is in the front electrical panel outside under the driver seat. It's some sorry of slide motor "cutoff" fuse.

My main shutoffs and electrical equipment are located in another panel, passenger side, rear. But I isn't see anything in there labeled slide out.
__________________
03 Monaco Windsor, just in front of:
a Dodge Durango, or on occasion, a Toyota Prius
SegwayGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5,351
I have 2 of these controllers.

One is in the front drivers side electrical bay, it is for the generator slide. I have not had a problem with part of the generator slide.

The second one is in the rear passenger side electrical bay (right behind the batteries), lower left hand side. There is a label for it printed and attached to the door. Previous owner also much have had a problem with it because when I first bought coach there was a spare fuse shoved between the wires, that's what brought my attention to it.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
I have 2 of these controllers.

One is in the front drivers side electrical bay, it is for the generator slide. I have not had a problem with part of the generator slide.

The second one is in the rear passenger side electrical bay (right behind the batteries), lower left hand side. There is a label for it printed and attached to the door. Previous owner also much have had a problem with it because when I first bought coach there was a spare fuse shoved between the wires, that's what brought my attention to it.
Outstanding. I found it. Thank you.
Where did you find a replacement fuse like this?
__________________
03 Monaco Windsor, just in front of:
a Dodge Durango, or on occasion, a Toyota Prius
SegwayGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5,351
Mine takes a standard large auto blade type fuse.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 100
Hmm this one looks very different than that but the blades are the same. Here's a picture of mine. Click image for larger version

Name:	1557881536389.jpeg
Views:	13
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	245979Click image for larger version

Name:	1557881581601.jpeg
Views:	15
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	245980Click image for larger version

Name:	1557881600178.jpeg
Views:	14
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	245981Click image for larger version

Name:	1557881647891.jpeg
Views:	13
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	245982
__________________
03 Monaco Windsor, just in front of:
a Dodge Durango, or on occasion, a Toyota Prius
SegwayGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 07:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5,351
That's a circuit breaker type fuse, any auto shop should carry them. Did you check the 5 amp fuse, that's the one that blows on mine, never had to replace the one your showing.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 07:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
That's a circuit breaker type fuse, any auto shop should carry them. Did you check the 5 amp fuse, that's the one that blows on mine, never had to replace the one your showing.
That's what was in the 5amp slot.

I also pulled the main slide relay. Looks like this:Click image for larger version

Name:	1557882617527.jpeg
Views:	15
Size:	89.4 KB
ID:	245984Click image for larger version

Name:	1557882638377.jpeg
Views:	14
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	245985
__________________
03 Monaco Windsor, just in front of:
a Dodge Durango, or on occasion, a Toyota Prius
SegwayGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 08:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,140
Looks like a relay to me.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 08:02 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outbound View Post
Looks like a relay to me.
I'm going to grab both before we hit the road. Can't roll with the slides open. LoL
__________________
03 Monaco Windsor, just in front of:
a Dodge Durango, or on occasion, a Toyota Prius
SegwayGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 07:23 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
That's a circuit breaker type fuse, any auto shop should carry them. Did you check the 5 amp fuse, that's the one that blows on mine, never had to replace the one your showing.
I swapped out a couple fuses and I don't think it's this one. I put a standard blade fuse in that slot and tested the 5:00 amp and the 25 amp still nothing in the front two slide outs.

The back one works.

I also called multiple auto parts stores and even the Napa Warehouse didn't have that special Auto reset fuse.

I sure hope somebody has another idea. I can manually bring in the smaller slide out in the front but I'm not sure if I can do the bigger one by hand.
__________________
03 Monaco Windsor, just in front of:
a Dodge Durango, or on occasion, a Toyota Prius
SegwayGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 06:50 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5,351
If you have a 2nd slide out module like this mounted in the front drivers side run bay you could try swapping and see if that solves the problem. My front controls the generator slideout but has the same number on it.



Have you've checked the inhibitor switches on your basement doors, you can bypass these by taking the wires off and connecting them together which will close the loop. One of mine causes me a problem where I have to slam the doors to get it close contact.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 09:08 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckeye AZ
Posts: 226
On my 2001 Scepter the problem was a bad relay.
__________________

monacojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slides will not come in Fleetwood Discovery. dnpoole Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 12-12-2017 02:00 AM
Toad braking systems that don't come on when the tail lights come on. billdreamlv Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 12 03-24-2017 09:59 PM
3 slides and not a one will come in... TnT612 Class A Motorhome Discussions 26 04-07-2015 06:38 AM
slide out wont come in leveler wont come up. china3 Tiffin Owner's Forum 2 09-02-2013 02:58 PM
Snowbirds Come South! Do Roadrunners Go North?In the winter - the "snowbirds" come s Samarai iRV2.com General Discussion 6 09-20-2010 06:56 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.