RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-31-2009, 06:09 PM   #1

Funky dash gauges.

I have a 2000 Diplomat and when I turn on the headlights the temp. gauge suddenly reads about 25 degrees higher and the voltage gauge drops to 12 volts. Turn the lights off and both gauges read correctly. The rest of the gauges have no reaction. Do I possibly have a poor ground to the instrument panel?

Mineshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-31-2009, 07:43 PM   #2
rex

Monaco Owners Club
You have a bad ground. Check where the ground to the instruments comes from. May be on the firewall just above the break. Make sure it is tight. Next the ground goes to one of the instruments and is daisy chained to all the others. One of them is not tight. You will have to pull the dash to check these. Remove all the screws and very carefully pull the dash out at the top for access. On mine the ground wires are all white.