RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2018, 07:51 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Gen Start

We have a 2003 Monaco signature Triple Crown. I set the auto gen start for the generator to start when batteries get to 50% of charge. It will start but will not charge the batteries. I get the green inverter light and red error light.
__________________

TackSauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-01-2018, 08:28 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
patmsp's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 410
Does it charge OK when you do NOT use the AGS feature?
__________________

__________________
Pat and Judy, Molly and Emma
2000 Monaco Dynasty-2007 Lexus GX470
Winter S/W Florida....Summer Eastern Tennessee
patmsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 09:49 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,862
I think Pat is on the right track. You need to start your generator and see if it charges. More than likely an inverter circuit breaker is popped or you need to reset it.
Also, there is a master circuit breaker on the generator next to the start switch. Make sure it's on.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 10:44 AM   #4
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 39,799
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

I think these guys are steering you in the right direction!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 06:28 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Yes gen works with manual start.
TackSauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 06:51 AM   #6
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,090
Welcome:

This one is tricky. Starting the generator manually has probably been done when the batteries have been closer to the full mark. When starting with auto start at 50% perhaps the batteries actually drop even more because of the starter load and then the inverter/charger does not like a voltage that low and will not run.

How old are your batteries? I would use a hydrometer to check each cell.

Make sure your battery connections are clean, tight, and shiny bright.

Put a voltmeter across the battery banks and then turn your microwave on with some water in a bowl and turn on any 12 volt devices you can. An electric heater would be a huge load too. Watch the voltage go down and see what happens when the generator tries to kick in.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 01:33 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
New batteries. Could it be I was not able to set the 100% mark on the auto set ?
TackSauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 11:25 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
JohnBoyToo's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, Tex-US
Posts: 5,512
with new batteries be sure to set the AmpHrs in your charger to ensure it is properly set for the new batteries rate of charge, etc...
__________________
'11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT RR10R pushed by a '14 Jeep Wrangler JKU. History.. 5'ers: 13 Redwood 38gk, 11 MVP Destiny, Open Range TT, popups, vans, tents...
JohnBoyToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 11:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Where ever we stop
Posts: 691
The inverter has a cut off that prevents it from sucking the batteries totally flat. Try setting the start point at 65% instead of 50%.
__________________
Chet
Monaco 2004 Signature 45' Castle IV Detroit 60
Towing 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee diesel
super_rep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 08:55 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
jimmy braden's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: What? Like right now? ;-)
Posts: 1,095
can you start the gen set from the RC7 control?

If not, it is likely the AGS module inside the inverter. I have a 2002RVA trace and it has never functioned with AGS - regarless of control settings. They basically said that is the first thing to go in the trace. It likely wont charge at the correct rate either. Mine never would drop down to lower voltage and the it would overcharge even with the temp sensor in place. If its a trace, you will likely either have to repair or replace it.

But, mine never tripped the error.
__________________

__________________
2003 Scepter 40PDBB - Roadmaster rr8s - Cummins ISC350 - purch aug16
jimmy braden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LP Gas Gen changed out for Diesel gen??? fighterpilot Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 03-10-2013 07:27 PM
03 Phaeton - Gen slide cable detached. Any easy way to get gen slide out? michelb Tiffin Owner's Forum 4 12-03-2012 07:22 AM
Engine Gen warning lite on when running gen set Gumby Monaco Owner's Forum 11 06-01-2012 09:15 AM
Gen-turi Hookup To Curved Gen Exhaust? Tarheel MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 06-27-2010 02:52 PM
1999 UA - Use of Gen-turi on Gen exaust daellishou Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-25-2010 04:24 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×