RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2017, 06:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 48
Inverter Question

Quick question.

We purchased our 97 Dynasty this past July and when it is running I know that one 110 ac outlet behind the passenger seat works. When we purchased it we plugged into all the outlets to see which ones worked. Since we found out my wife has used it for charging her ipad and iphone and many other things.

Now what is weird is that today I was inside the large storage bay and actually saw the inverter. It had a power switch which was turned off. I believe it is the stock one from 1997 and is 1500 watts if memory serves me.

My question is, if I turn it on, what is it supposed to do or control. With that one outlet that we found working with the engine running I had just assumed that it was already on. So now I am a bit confused.

Thanks for any advice!
__________________

8thDegree is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-22-2017, 06:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Charlie and Martha's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,050
Blog Entries: 15
What brand inverter do you have? Maybe a little more information will bring the answers you need. Some control battery inversion to 120VAC and others to that and charge batteries as well.
__________________

__________________
Blogs -RV Blog|Vietnam 46 Years Later| Moto Chronicles|iRV2 Blog Entries
Our Coach - 2005 Newmar Northern Star | 350 Cat C7 3126 | Freightliner XC Chassis
We are - Charlie and Martha Ketchum
Charlie and Martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 06:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,190
Not knowing the inverter brand and model it's hard to say. It could be original or an add on. If it is a combo inverter/converter, that switch could be for just the converter. It does seem strange that that a factory inverter would only control one outlet. Usually if that is the case, it will only power the front TV and entertainment system.

If it were me, I would make sure the house batteries were fully charged. Not on shore. Then flip that switch on, then take a 120v device and check each outlet to see what you have power to.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 06:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,475
Look around for an inverter remote panel. That may take over the inverter mounted switch.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 07:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Flyin4Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 195
Agree w/ twinboat.... if your coach came with an inverter installed, it probably has a remote mounted panel to control the functions of the inverter. And if that is the case, it very likely overrides any physical switch mounted on the inverter itself.

First Step, find out if it is part of the system original equipment of the RV. If it is, you'll find that the inverter is feeding a sub panel next to your AC panel full of circuit breakers. The inverter panel should give you some clues as to what devices are powered with 12 Volt DC through the inverter to 115 Volt AC. Testing your AC outlets without Shore power (and knowing that you have good house batteries) should provide the rest of the information.
Flyin4Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 09:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 678
I would think all 97 Monaco Dynasty's would have been manufactured with inverters as standard equipment.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 08:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Aurora, MN
Posts: 57
Just got a HR 2004 Ambassador 38PDQ. I have 2 house and 2 chassis batteries. Haven't seen any panel that looks like an inverter shown in this forum. How do I know for sure if I have an inverter/charger or not? Where would it be located? I do know my chassis batteries are not charging, what's up?
tomclayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 08:23 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,450
Our 97 Monaco Windsor came with a Trace 2000 inverter. Your 97 Dynasty should have the same. You also should have a remote control panel above the entry door.

Make sure the switch in the basement on the side of your inverter is turned on, then go inside and also turn it on at the remote.

Best of luck!
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 12:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 48
Sorry - it took a while to get to the motorhome and look at the name of the inverter. We have the Freedom Model 20 Inverter. I believe it is the stock unit. And yes, it does have the control panel above the door with an on/off switch.

I guess my question should be: other than the one switch behind the passenger, what else does the inverter power? We tried other outlets, but did not find any others that would come on. I suppose the control panel switch can turn the unit on or off regardless of the position of the switch on the inverter. Is that correct?

Thanks for all your help as I am still trying to learn!!
__________________

8thDegree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter and Inverter Remote Panel Manual EL_Carlson Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 05-01-2011 05:31 PM
inverter/charger or just inverter bdawson11 RV Systems & Appliances 10 06-14-2009 09:48 AM
Simple Inverter Hook Up? Plug my 50 amp to the inverter? E Z Livin MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 12-19-2005 02:59 AM
"Fresh" water question, & Inverter/Battery question Dagwood_73 Boondocking 7 07-29-2005 01:15 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.