RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2019, 10:48 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
oldmattb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 393
Is that a fuse?

In our 1998 Monaco Windsor, there is a 5 amp glass fuse in a black fuse holder inside the AC breaker box.

It is attached to a pre-breaker lug, and goes into a Romex wire and into the guts like the rest of the AC wires.

No mention in the manuals I have, and I don't have a wiring diagram. Does one of you know what it is for? I will make a note in my service log.

As an aside, I noticed I had an AC breaker for "water heater." Sure enough, after six years of ownership, I discovered we have an AC element in the water heater. One of the wires overheated and separated. New element on the way!

I also have a breaker for a clothes washer, but I don't expect to discover it.

Matt B
__________________

__________________
Matt B
1998 Monaco Windsor
oldmattb is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-11-2019, 02:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 4,083
Does it look factory installed? Can you post a picture?

I have an older wiring diagram for a 1996 coach (not for Monaco), and it looks like they have a "capacitor" in the 12VAC panel (maybe to reduce "noise" on the circuit). Not sure. Could it be something like that?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1996 Wiring 120V Panel.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	259972  
__________________

__________________
Mike ----- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, 42-ft Tag, with HydraLift
**Beaver History/Info/Chassis/Suspsn https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
**Bvr/Mnco Wiring Diagrams (84-09):https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 05:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
oldmattb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 393
It does look factory installed - same wire and strain relief as the other circuits.

I don't have a photo handy, but it is a 5 amp, 250 volt glass fuse in a typical in-line holder.

Matt B
__________________
Matt B
1998 Monaco Windsor
oldmattb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 05:08 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
veraken's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,537
Go to the Files section above and do a search for Windsor. You will find the wiring diagrams for a 2000 Windsor which may help you.
__________________
Vera & Ken
1998 Holiday Rambler Imperial, RR8S Chassis
Cummins 6C8.3 mechanical engine, 325HP, 3060 Allison
Towing 2014 Ford Explorer
veraken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 09:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
oldmattb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by veraken View Post
Go to the Files section above and do a search for Windsor. You will find the wiring diagrams for a 2000 Windsor which may help you.

Thanks for that. I checked that file and some others, and saw no reference to my mystery fuse.

My thought is that the design drawings would reflect the original engineering, and would not include an afterthought or last-minute change. If it were a planned feature - it would likely have had a breaker!

I will study the breaker box, and try to think of what is excluded from the breakers. My thought is that a five amp circuit would be something with very low demand. Any outlet would be a 15 amp, AC units have their own breakers as does microwave, etc.

What would draw just a couple of amps, need a dedicated circuit, and be an option, customer request, or otherwise an addition to the engineered circuitry?

I might try disconnecting it, and seeing what doesn't work.

Matt B
__________________
Matt B
1998 Monaco Windsor
oldmattb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 09:40 AM   #6
Member
 
EdBoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldmattb View Post
I might try disconnecting it, and seeing what doesn't work.
Perfect application of the KISS principle. Sure can't hurt to try.
__________________
Ed
2019 Thor 30FE
"Retread" IRV2 member
EdBoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 09:59 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,574
Good start.

Likely a device that is placed somewhere that normal wiring is not.

Small fuse indicated minimal load so it could be alarm or memory retention or other minor item.

Turn all off but that and see what happens.

If you have access to an amp Myer you can remove fuse and place amp meter in its place to measure current, if no current then whatever it is connected to is broken or switched off.

Old school power audit.

Turn on all breakers and check to see that everything works.

Get notepad.

Turn one off and make note of each item that stops working with that breaker.

Continue until all breakers off.

After all off look for things still working.

Check battery voltage with dc voltmeter as you go as a sudden dropping of voltage would indicate charger turning off.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 12:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
oldmattb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 393
Well, that was simple! I walked out to the coach today to explore what it could be. I stepped in, and checked the voltmeter in front, and thought "hmmmm..."

Yes, on my 1998 Monaco Windsor, the 5 amp fuse in the fuse holder INSIDE the the breaker box is for the AC voltmeter.

Thanks all!

Matt B
__________________

__________________
Matt B
1998 Monaco Windsor
oldmattb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winnebago Fuse 23T :: 2017 Winnebago Fuse 23T jvcouch iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-19-2016 12:41 PM
Fuse Blows- "40A IGN A" fuse - HELP!! jntrox Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 7 08-05-2012 07:19 PM
VIEW (2010) Fuse Panel? (H2o fuse) TortoisXpres Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 06-04-2011 03:50 PM
fuse panel picture for engine compartment fuse panel 1997 National Dolphin mtradup National RV Owner's Forum 3 05-05-2011 07:18 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.