RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-08-2009, 07:11 PM   #1

ISC 330 cranking slow

I have a 2002 Diplomat with an ISC330. Last week I went to start it up before going away for the 4th. It would not start and it cranked as if the batteries were dead. It was sitting in the driveway for about 5 weeks and the last time I had it out I had no problems or symptoms of problems. It generally starts right up within 5-10 secs. I was able to get a mechanic to come out, checked the connections positive and negative. I cleaned all the terminals and connections, removed the batteries and had them tested one was bad and the other was "marginal" So I put 2 new 1000 cca batteries in, fully charged and I get the same problem. Slow almost dead cranking. Red lead from the batteries gets warm. I had another mechanic in on Monday and after looking over everything he believed that the starter(although cranking) was drawing too much amperage. So he changed the starter. Yes you guessed it same thing slow crank, too slow to start. Checked the oil fine, no residue, some good news at least no metal in the oil! Although I had changed the oil in April. He is returning tomorrow to "bar" the engine. I'm not sure what this means, he is doing this while I'm at work. I was not able to find the ground lead on the engine so I had jumpered the ground from the battery direct to the engine. Same effect slow cranking, too slow to start it. Any suggestions as to what it could be?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!