RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2019, 08:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 433
Jake brake on 2 cylinders only??

This is a 2004 Dynasty, Cummins 400. I would like to know if the ecm supplies the voltage to the 2 solenoids from a single wire and one splits off to route to the high/low switch? Or are there 2 separate leads coming out of the ecm? I want to jump the second solenoid from the first to see if it goes on 4 cylinders. If not I'll have to put in a temporary relay to run the two solenoids to not damage the ecm. This will let me know if it is an internal problem or electrical. My switch is working but the 2 wires dissappear into what the book calls a HILLAM. Best I can tell it's an outsourced wiring harness. Does the switch send voltage to the ecm or just ground the 2 ecm signal inputs? Thanks
__________________

shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2019, 08:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
1doodadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: So Cal
Posts: 957
If you watch the video you will See Exactly how a Jake Brake works. The ECM does control the switching but it controls oil solenoids which intern Retard the Exhaust Valve Timing to the very last moment of the piston stroke, via the engines oil pressure. I listed this video because it is a common problem loosing oil pressure at solenoids, could be your problem.

Dont Mess With The ECM


__________________

__________________
2000 42' BEAVER MARQUIS AMETHYST w/tag 2 SLIDES CAT C12 425 hp ALLISON HD 4060 HURRICANE HEATER ONAN 10000 kw
1doodadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 09:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2018
Location: WC,PA
Posts: 52
Unfortunately I canít answer your question, but maybe you can help answer a easy one. 2003 Dynasty Bishop 400 Cummings with a 3 or 6 cylinder J brake depending on the rocker switch position. If the top of the rocker switch is down, is that the HI position with all cylinders providing the breaking or just 3. I have a foot pedal that triggers the brake activation. Depressed Ė on, release Ė off. Iím just not sure of which rocker position provides max braking. Iím assuming HI is top down.
Thanks
f365gt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 09:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by f365gt4 View Post
Unfortunately I canít answer your question, but maybe you can help answer a easy one. 2003 Dynasty Bishop 400 Cummings with a 3 or 6 cylinder J brake depending on the rocker switch position. If the top of the rocker switch is down, is that the HI position with all cylinders providing the breaking or just 3. I have a foot pedal that triggers the brake activation. Depressed Ė on, release Ė off. Iím just not sure of which rocker position provides max braking. Iím assuming HI is top down.
Thanks
Pushing the front down is high
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 06:09 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Floyds Knobs, In.
Posts: 7,906
This is a manual that shows the basic wiring diagram and how the Jacobs brake is setup as mentioned above most of the older setups are Hi and Low which is 3 or 6 cylinders.

Jacobs 490A Install.pdf
__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 08:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 148
Shootist - on my 99 M11 the jake brake coil wires run directly from the ECM to the coils - you can see them alongside the valve cover on top of the intake. There is a weatherpack connector for that harness at the forward end, there is a jumper harness in there that connects the wire to the engine brake light relay to the low coil - I could see where those connections could be an issue.... On mine the jumper can be removed and the harness plugged in without it, you just lose the brake light activation while on the Jake.
I have a page in my wiring diagrams labeled HILLAM ENGINE CONTROLS that shows the circuiting.
__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 06:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 433
Thank you both! It looks like I can install the jumper and both should work if it's not mechanical. If it's mechanical it'll be cheaper but I hate getting greasy these days. Haha
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 11:23 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 148
I might have misread the Hillam wiring diagram - here is the wiring diagram I found in the Jacobs troubleshooting manual I have....
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Jacobs wiring.pdf (56.8 KB, 5 views)
__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 06:03 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 433
Thank you Kurt. I need to talk to a cummins tech to ask if I can jump the solenoid or switch wires front to back. I don't know if the ecm has to chop all the fuel or if the jake can operate with an idle speed supply of fuel still available to the cylinders.
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 06:07 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by shootist View Post
This is a 2004 Dynasty, Cummins 400. I would like to know if the ecm supplies the voltage to the 2 solenoids from a single wire and one splits off to route to the high/low switch? Or are there 2 separate leads coming out of the ecm? I want to jump the second solenoid from the first to see if it goes on 4 cylinders. If not I'll have to put in a temporary relay to run the two solenoids to not damage the ecm. This will let me know if it is an internal problem or electrical. My switch is working but the 2 wires dissappear into what the book calls a HILLAM. Best I can tell it's an outsourced wiring harness. Does the switch send voltage to the ecm or just ground the 2 ecm signal inputs? Thanks
Attached are two pages from the 03 Dynasty wiring book related to the Engine brake. Hope it helps. If you want the whole book, just PM me with your email address. It's a PDF of about 90k so it may take a bit toi download if you're on a slow connection.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Eng-TransBrake-Monaco_Dynasty03_WD.pdf (186.3 KB, 5 views)
File Type: pdf Jake-Cruise-Monaco_Dynasty03_WD.pdf (390.8 KB, 5 views)
__________________
Rick P. '03 Dynasty
rpasetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 10:09 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 433
Got it RPasetto, thankyou very much.
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 01:16 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 433
Both solenoids click with 12v. Both show .02 ohms on my lowest scale on the meter. I thought they were to be .5 to .2 , pretty sure it's just me reading the meter wrong. 2 wires go down towards the ecm and two from a breakout to the harnesses on the rt frame rail. I will climb under it when I raise it up to leave here. Don't want to bother the neighbors. What I really want to know if it is a single 12volt wire that feeds both from the ecm because then I could jump them together cutting the hi/lo circuit out of the equation. That would very quickly tell me if it is electrical or a mechanical problem in the jake.
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:22 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 838
Looked in my Dynasty wiring book but was not able to locate the solenoids you mention. Here attached is another page which shows the two engine brake switches and other components on the shifter panel. Note that the wiring runs to a 12-pin connector... there are at least a dozen of these for different purposes. I tried to find the page corresponding to the relays you mention but could not.

(Again you are welcome to the whole wiring book if you want it. It's kind of cumbersome to use, just a PDF with images of pages and not text-searchable. Monaco used to have that & other info available online for download, back in the day.)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ShifterPanelWiring-Monaco_Dynasty03_WD.pdf (395.4 KB, 5 views)
__________________
Rick P. '03 Dynasty
rpasetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 433
Thankyou Rick, the solenoids are under the valve cover. I have the same wiring manual for my coach. 2004 dynasty only is slightly different, they added a plug m108 and put the two jake hi/lo wires to it. It's not knowing what I should be seeing for voltages and where the wires come out in the rear. If the ecm sends 2 separate signals to the engine then I cannot switch them or jump the to test the mechanicals. I have no idea if I can manually send 12v to the solenoids while running without damaging the motor if the ecm is still firing the injectors.
__________________

shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to disable brake light activation on jake brake TGMarrs Monaco Owner's Forum 45 05-31-2017 05:26 PM
Pac Brake upgrade to Jake Brake? AttilaKara72 Monaco Owner's Forum 10 08-28-2014 07:26 AM
Brake lights stay on when jake brake is turned on BOSSHOG1 Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 10-26-2013 11:19 AM
brake master cylinders blngrjms Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 4 07-18-2012 06:42 AM
Toad brake with Jake brake Roadking Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 12-18-2006 05:24 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×