Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2012, 10:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
OnJa's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wherever it is Parked
Posts: 157
Monaco Electrical gone HAY-WIRE

This is a stumpper. 3 days ago, 'out of the clear blue' my TV started shutting itself of when I turn on the lights under my cabinets in my living room, dining room, and kitchen area.

I have pulled the 'thinline lites' out an inspected for shortages. Not there.

I had put a small extension cord in one of the receptacles over the counter top for a coffee maker, electric skillet etc when I got the MH 3 yrs ago. I unplugged that thinking that was the culprit. It worked till I turned on one of the lights under the cabinets.

Has this ever been an issue discussed. Somebody PLEASE SAY "YES"
__________________

__________________
1990 Crown Royale Signature 40'
2009 Chevy HHR
Cairn Terriers - Jenny
OnJa is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-29-2012, 10:45 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Robi.1014's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 769
I'll say "Yes"....but only because you asked so nicely!! But my honest answer is "no".

The TV should be running on 120 volts AC (VAC). Under-cabinet and other lighting throughout our rigs operate on 12 volts DC. So you have a real puzzler to consider.

My ONLY thought as to how DC-demand (the lights) could cause the TV (AC demand) to trip off is that the TV is running on the INVERTER (the inverter supplies AC power from the DC stored in the "house battery bank"). If this is your condition (and I'll admit that it's a stretch), then when DC-demand (lighting) is increased, perhaps your house batts fall below the 11-or-so volts (DC) that the INVERTER must have to produce an AC output. If this "logic" makes sense, what I'm saying is that your batteries need charging, and perhaps they are not being charged because shore-power is intermittent or completely off. Hmmmmmmm.
__________________

__________________
Robi & Dale ---- Go Navy ----
2016 Winnie TOUR 42'
Tow: '08 Buick Lucerne
Robi.1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:19 AM   #3
rex
Senior Member
 
rex's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Foley, AL
Posts: 1,247
Well do a little test. Turn Tv on, turn light on, if TV goes off, leave light on and turn TV back on. If TV comes back on it looks like the light may be generating a frequency transmission that is equivalent to the remote control turn-off signal. Thin Lights have been known to cause problems with some thermostats for the same reason.
__________________
Rex

2001 Monaco Diplomat 40' PDQ - 08 Honda CR-V
rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 04:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
OnJa's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wherever it is Parked
Posts: 157
Test proved this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex View Post
Well do a little test. Turn Tv on, turn light on, if TV goes off, leave light on and turn TV back on. If TV comes back on it looks like the light may be generating a frequency transmission that is equivalent to the remote control turn-off signal. Thin Lights have been known to cause problems with some thermostats for the same reason.
I preformed the test, I found out that it is not my TV that goes hay-wire, but it is the DIRECT-TV RECEIVER. You know how when it rains, and the TV goes into a bunch of little mosaic images. That is what my TV looks like. I have a DVD in it now, and it works perfect.

So, the test shows me that it is in the wiring, and not my batteries
__________________
1990 Crown Royale Signature 40'
2009 Chevy HHR
Cairn Terriers - Jenny
OnJa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 2,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnJa View Post
I preformed the test, I found out that it is not my TV that goes hay-wire, but it is the DIRECT-TV RECEIVER. You know how when it rains, and the TV goes into a bunch of little mosaic images. That is what my TV looks like. I have a DVD in it now, and it works perfect.

So, the test shows me that it is in the wiring, and not my batteries
As Rex points out, the ballasts in the Thin light can go bad and start generating EMI (Electro Magnetic Interference). The florescent lamps require a high voltage to operate and the Thin Light has a flyback power supply that boost the 12 VDC to a higher voltage to operate the lamp. After you locate the faulty light you will either need to replace it or disconnect the ballast and replace the florescent lamps with LED lamps. I have found these to be very good and have 6 installed in my coach to correct a low voltage problem caused by long wiring.
Replacement 18" F15T8 LED Tube for Fluorescent Fixtures
I was constantly replacing the lamps but now have them swapped out for the LED type.

Bob
__________________
Bob, Pam, and Wheatens Buffy and Bo
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2007 Ford SportTrac
2006 Honda in standby
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:30 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
OnJa's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wherever it is Parked
Posts: 157
Thanks for link

Will do a check on ballast asap. Do have one that will not work. That is probably my culprit. Bookmarked the link. "JUST REPLACED" all 32 lights last month with new. Got tired of seeing that dreaded black ring. ha
__________________
1990 Crown Royale Signature 40'
2009 Chevy HHR
Cairn Terriers - Jenny
OnJa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:36 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
I don't remember the length of my florescent light fixtures, but I replaced the two tubes with 5 rows of this. About the same brightness as the florescent tubes and use 1/10th the power and are a lot cheaper.

5M SMD 5050 LED Rope Strip lights 300 leds Cool White 60led/meter 16FT Car Light | eBay
__________________

__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.