RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2017, 04:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northeast Georgia
Posts: 33
Oil Pressure Gauge, Turbo Boost Gauge not working

Hi,

Making progress on shooting bugs in the 1999 Monaco Exec. Found a good tech who will come on site . Two bugs that are lower priority (one lower, one still high) are that there is no gauge reading on oil pressure or turbo boost. This is a Cummins 450. I really hate not knowing oil pressure, turbo boost is a "nice to know" but since I've never owned a turbo before, don't know what the right values would be anyway. As I remember, the gauges on our Schneider 9700 Cabover did not even have a boost gauge at all. The L10 engine had so little grunt it did not matter that we were governed to 55 MPH.

I have the wiring diagrams but the location of the senders specified does not seem to match reality. Does anyone have photos of these two elusive guys? Of course, the gauges may be bad but it seems to make sense to check first for missing wires, or oddly, the manual says the turbo boost uses yellow clear plastic tubing. I have pretty decent access to top of engine thru bedroom but maybe they are lower on block. Turbo sender is supposed to be on intake manifold, oil sender on P/S rear of engine.

Totally unrelated question: see lots of references to "Salesman Switch" in the forum. What is that? Legends are worn off all my switches, will be a big task to come up with labels for them when I figure out what they do.
__________________

__________________
Harry and Elaine and whichever pup we are raising for Canine Companions for Independence.
1999 Monaco Executive 40', Cummins M11 450HP; 1998 Bounder 36S, Ford 460 Until she sells.
xbigblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-26-2017, 05:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scotialaddie's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 183
My oil pressure and coolant temp gauges are not reliable so I bought Scangauge D. Best 180 bucks Iíve spent! Took all of 15 minutes to set up!
The salesman switch is a toggle switch on my 1999 Dynasty at the door that completely turns off the power to the coach.
__________________

__________________
Scotia, Tricia, Mia, (the Labradoodle)
1999 Monaco Dynasty
330hp Cummins, Allison 6 speed
Scotialaddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 05:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,504
Doubtful that you have a boost gauge on the dash. To read mine I have to use the SilverLeaf 400Cl. On my last MH I had to use a SilverLeaf VMSpc.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,924
Just fixed my oil pressure gauge. My gauge uses a VDO number 360 023 sending unit that is located just above the starter on the passenger side of the engine. This is a very common sending unit used on lots of applications.
My owners manual lists a Monaco version of the sending unit that is no longer available:
VDO 360 0238NDO

Just a note: There are 2 sending units on most Cummins engines installed in Monaco coaches, one for the engine ECU and one for the gauge. The gauge sending unit has 2 connections, one for the light and one for the gauge.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 10:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northeast Georgia
Posts: 33
Smile Oil Press and Boost answers

Scotialaddie - thanks for tip on Scangauge D. Looks like a great product from their website, I was looking a while back for comparable info product for my Acura MDX when I had trans fluid overheat - but found that the data wasn't available from the Acura interface. Bummer. Looks like putting the Scangauge on might be cheaper in long run than fixing these two gauges.

Mr D - Why are you doubtful that the Monaco has a boost gauge on the dash? It is there big as life and is referenced in the gauges wiring diagrams.

Thanks to all who responded to this inquiry.
__________________
Harry and Elaine and whichever pup we are raising for Canine Companions for Independence.
1999 Monaco Executive 40', Cummins M11 450HP; 1998 Bounder 36S, Ford 460 Until she sells.
xbigblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 11:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbigblue View Post
Scotialaddie
Mr D - Why are you doubtful that the Monaco has a boost gauge on the dash? It is there big as life and is referenced in the gauges wiring diagrams.

Thanks to all who responded to this inquiry.
That's because very few MH's come with a boost gauge and you have to add it.

You're welcome!
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 12:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northeast Georgia
Posts: 33
The Scangauge D

Thanks again for the Scangauge D recommendation. I found it online at Advance Auto Parts at $159, with a special deal today of $40 credit for online purchase, net 119 bucks. Whattadeal!
__________________
Harry and Elaine and whichever pup we are raising for Canine Companions for Independence.
1999 Monaco Executive 40', Cummins M11 450HP; 1998 Bounder 36S, Ford 460 Until she sells.
xbigblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 12:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
That's because very few MH's come with a boost gauge and you have to add it.
Hmmm, mine has one
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
walt2137's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 2,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
That's because very few MH's come with a boost gauge and you have to add it.

You're welcome!
I think all diesel engine Monaco coaches from the early 90 to the 2008 had a boost gauge.

Bigblue your boost gauge on your ISM engine will be a 1/4 plastic tubin hooked in somewhere close to your turbo on the air intake manifold. They get close to the exhaust manifold and get burned into somtimes.
__________________
Walt & Will
2000 Dynasty
2017 Ram Big Horn Crew C 4X4 w/ M&G
walt2137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 12:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 153
The boost gauge is mechanical - yellow tubing all the way from the intake manifold to the gauge, I agree with Walt it is likely to be damaged near the connection at the intake. There is also a sending unit for the ECM as I read boost with the Silverleaf VMSPC as well. My oil pressure gauge isn't working either - believe its the sender - I've gotten lazy and haven't run it down since I can read it on the VMSPC....
__________________

__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
turbo



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo Boost What is the Maximum Boost that a 5.9, 275HP shogun1940 Cummins Engines 10 11-30-2014 08:47 PM
Low oil pressure | erratic oil pressure | inconsistant oil pressure GlennLever Cummins Engines 45 08-28-2014 09:24 AM
What is max turbo boost supposed to be..& min. oil pressure at idle, ISC 350 Cummins StansCustoms Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 12-02-2011 02:06 PM
Turbo / Boost Gauge? Montrealer Cummins Engines 7 03-30-2010 01:20 PM
Anyone added a turbo boost gauge? RCtime Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 01-16-2008 03:58 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×