Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2017, 05:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northeast Georgia
Posts: 31
Puzzle: Scangauge D on 1999 Monaco Exec

My Scangauge D was delivered yesterday and I gave it a try in the Exec today. Not very encouraging. The required plug under the dash (fits OK) does not show anything at all on the Scangauge D. Troubleshooting advice in manual says "blown fuse"? Not so. Ok, on to see if there is a J1708 elsewhere. Yes, I find one in the compartment that houses the 12V chassis fuses. OK, we got power from it to the display. Tried to take the device through setup per manual, I would not say the instructions are crystal clear or obviously intuitive, but then I am getting older and things may not function so well sometimes. Finally got it into the routine to select the displayed gauges I want. I chose voltage, boost, oil pressure, and coolant temp just for a test. Only data I get is voltage and it looks way off, 2 or 3 volts below what the dash gauge says. Others are blank. I can't believe those other values are not in the harness from the ECU. Is the data coming from the Cummins M11 ECU? How can it have only one value?

I quit trying when a rain shower started, since I was sitting outside the coach working in that compartment. Where do I go from here? Has anyone else had this experience, too?
__________________

__________________
Harry and Elaine and whichever pup we are raising for Canine Companions for Independence.
1999 Monaco Executive 40', Cummins M11 450HP; 1998 Bounder 36S, Ford 460 Until she sells.
xbigblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-05-2017, 06:49 PM   #2
Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 91
Following your answers! Plan to buy Scangauge D in the spring!
__________________

__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374
FL XC-Chassis, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummings
3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox
Damion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 09:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Showman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 47
My previous coach was a 2000 with the m11. Loved the engine.great fuel mileage and plenty of power. Bought a scan gauge but could never get into work right. Only read a few thing and would fluctuate all over the place. Returned it for a replacement same thing.
__________________
Showman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 10:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,855
I installed a Scan Gauge D in my MH this past spring. Plugged it in, followed the set up instructions and bingo! Worked like a champ.
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 05:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 128
I don't have a scan gauge D - but I do have the Silverleaf VMSPC on mine - works great. I don't know much about the scanguage, but on the Silverleaf you have to set it up for the correct engine so it knows which PID loops are what and what to monitor. Mine is also a 99 M-11.
__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
oldmattb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 308
I had a similar experience. Turned out my 1998 Monaco has a mechanical Cummins (cannot support a Scangauge), and the under dash connector was a diagnostic port for the transmission.

Matt B
__________________
Matt B
1998 Monaco Windsor
oldmattb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 12:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dmastroluca's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 298
I had a similar problem with my 2001 Monaco Diplomat. There are two ECU's on my rig. The cable that came with the unit plugged into the wrong one. The other ECU had a different connector. I called Scangauge tech support and they sent me out the right cable for free. Hooked it up to the right ECU and it has worked like a charm. Their tech support is great. Give them a call 1-888-433-5664.
__________________
Dan & April Mastroluca-2001 Monaco Diplomat 36PBD Cummins ISC330HP 8.3L Diesel 6-Speed Allison Transmission-Towing 2011 Cadillac SRX w/ Blue Ox Aventa BX7445 & Roadmaster Invisibrake FMCA# F452291 https://www.facebook.com/dmastroluca GO DODGER BLUE!!!
dmastroluca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 12:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbigblue View Post
My Scangauge D was delivered yesterday and I gave it a try in the Exec today. Not very encouraging. The required plug under the dash (fits OK) does not show anything at all on the Scangauge D. Troubleshooting advice in manual says "blown fuse"? Not so. Ok, on to see if there is a J1708 elsewhere. Yes, I find one in the compartment that houses the 12V chassis fuses. OK, we got power from it to the display. Tried to take the device through setup per manual, I would not say the instructions are crystal clear or obviously intuitive, but then I am getting older and things may not function so well sometimes. Finally got it into the routine to select the displayed gauges I want. I chose voltage, boost, oil pressure, and coolant temp just for a test. Only data I get is voltage and it looks way off, 2 or 3 volts below what the dash gauge says. Others are blank. I can't believe those other values are not in the harness from the ECU. Is the data coming from the Cummins M11 ECU? How can it have only one value?

I quit trying when a rain shower started, since I was sitting outside the coach working in that compartment. Where do I go from here? Has anyone else had this experience, too?


You may have to involve the customer service reps for Scan gauge in order to get your unit up & running. Your M11 is in the time period when a couple of changes were occurring in the M11. The first generations of electronic controls were introduced as the M11 Celect and Celect Plus before the final ISM configuration. Iím guessing you will have to know for sure which version you have.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 04:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northeast Georgia
Posts: 31
I found some info at Cummins Quikserve website earlier but can't find it again. I recall that the data for my M11 engine serial no. indicated it was built by Cummins in 1997, if that helps identify which of the families it falls in. I knew it was too easy the first logon to find info, now it's like I was never there.
__________________
Harry and Elaine and whichever pup we are raising for Canine Companions for Independence.
1999 Monaco Executive 40', Cummins M11 450HP; 1998 Bounder 36S, Ford 460 Until she sells.
xbigblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 02:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
dmastroluca's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbigblue View Post
I knew it was too easy the first logon to find info, now it's like I was never there.
The Cummins Quickserve site is not very user-friendly so it's not just you.
__________________
Dan & April Mastroluca-2001 Monaco Diplomat 36PBD Cummins ISC330HP 8.3L Diesel 6-Speed Allison Transmission-Towing 2011 Cadillac SRX w/ Blue Ox Aventa BX7445 & Roadmaster Invisibrake FMCA# F452291 https://www.facebook.com/dmastroluca GO DODGER BLUE!!!
dmastroluca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 02:27 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 128
Mine was built in 98 and is a Celect plus - I believe this is what the E+ on the data plate means - If yours doesn't have the E or E+ it may be mechanical... I seem to recall info on this subject in old threads - you might try doing a search.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Camera 11-19-12 103.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	383.0 KB
ID:	185138  
__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 04:00 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northeast Georgia
Posts: 31
Question Where is that data plate?

Kurt, thanks for info on your M11. Do you recall where that data plate is on the engine? I have not seen it yet on mine. Cummins folks told me to look on top of valve cover but that was just a paper label that time has obliterated. I have a previous owner's handwritten note that the engine is an M11 450E but I suppose that could be wrong. Better find that plate.
__________________
Harry and Elaine and whichever pup we are raising for Canine Companions for Independence.
1999 Monaco Executive 40', Cummins M11 450HP; 1998 Bounder 36S, Ford 460 Until she sells.
xbigblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 08:30 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 128
Yes - mine is on the passenger side of the engine block, just below the cylinder head. closer to the back.
__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 02:23 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northeast Georgia
Posts: 31
I sent thanks to Kurt for his info; for others who are pursuing this discussion my engine does say "M11 450 E+" on data plate so in theory the Scanguage D should be able to talk to engine/ECU. Will see if I can raise tech help on Monday for the Scangauge. Glory be, 5" of snow yesterday/last night here in GA. My son in Wisconsin says he has less than that!
__________________

__________________
Harry and Elaine and whichever pup we are raising for Canine Companions for Independence.
1999 Monaco Executive 40', Cummins M11 450HP; 1998 Bounder 36S, Ford 460 Until she sells.
xbigblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco, scangauge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1999 Tradewinds solar panel wiring puzzle. Geezer38 National RV Owner's Forum 5 10-01-2017 06:05 AM
1999 Monaco Diplomat 38A :: 1999 Monaco diplomat TGunn1 iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-05-2016 12:06 AM
Vim box location on early 1994 Monaco Exec. lukydude MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 09-01-2013 12:31 AM
Concerns on Tag axle 2003 Monaco exec 43 ft lbaldwin Monaco Owner's Forum 5 08-26-2013 03:03 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.