RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2007, 10:24 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
This is a post regarding remotes-as I promised to Ronboc.
I happened to read DiggnBubbs "BLOG"from Feb 6,2007 late one evening.
I have two of these remotes-but they are not easy to find.Costco has them onlinw -and they may be in some locations also OR you might be able to find them at Walmart.
One of the things I love about this remote is that I can hit only one of 6 buttons next to the color screen and turn everything on at once. For example - in the house I watch TV by normally turning on the stereo receiver(for surround), the Directv receiver, and the TV. I hit one button and they all come on. THEN- I don't have to switch between units- the remote knows that it changes the Directv channels - not the TV channels and the volume works from my surround not the TV
Here is a picture. In my case - you hit the button by the green arrow and it takes care of what I said above...
The other nice thing is that I can look at the picture to know what "action" I am trying to do - I don't need my glasses on!

This remote is programmed via the Internet based on your exact equipment. the Magnadyne 9900CD player is included in the programming list - but the DVD is not in there as of last week. The ones not in their preprogrammed list can be added the old fashioned way



__________________

__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-12-2007, 10:24 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
This is a post regarding remotes-as I promised to Ronboc.
I happened to read DiggnBubbs "BLOG"from Feb 6,2007 late one evening.
I have two of these remotes-but they are not easy to find.Costco has them onlinw -and they may be in some locations also OR you might be able to find them at Walmart.
One of the things I love about this remote is that I can hit only one of 6 buttons next to the color screen and turn everything on at once. For example - in the house I watch TV by normally turning on the stereo receiver(for surround), the Directv receiver, and the TV. I hit one button and they all come on. THEN- I don't have to switch between units- the remote knows that it changes the Directv channels - not the TV channels and the volume works from my surround not the TV
Here is a picture. In my case - you hit the button by the green arrow and it takes care of what I said above...
The other nice thing is that I can look at the picture to know what "action" I am trying to do - I don't need my glasses on!

This remote is programmed via the Internet based on your exact equipment. the Magnadyne 9900CD player is included in the programming list - but the DVD is not in there as of last week. The ones not in their preprogrammed list can be added the old fashioned way



__________________

__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 10:31 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
The remote can also be programmed to be used on the back TV also - in other words - you can program duplicate types of equipment without interferring with the other - so this remote can take place of all the remotes that are in your coach!



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 09:53 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hillsboro, OR, USA
Posts: 336
Were you able to learn commands directly from the old remote to the new one?

Since I have the M9900DVDS system, and until I replace this unit with a Pioneer DVD/Navigation system, I would think this would be an ideal remote to replace the flat little remote that comes with the Magnadyne.

since the Magnadyne is just out of reach when driving as an example, raising or lowering the volume, or changing channels is a chore.

If it pre-learns the M9900CD system which is not that different then the DVDS system, I am thinking that if you can add those additional functions manually, this may work.

Advise?
__________________
2016 Ford F-350 Crew Cab Lariat w/6.7L Diesel - 2018 Arctic Fox 27-5L Fifth Wheel

Sold: 2007 Holiday Rambler Ambassador 40' diesel Motor Coach
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 11:29 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Gordon:
Were you able to learn commands directly from the old remote to the new one?
... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I am not sure of the answer for this. I know that I had to use a remote for my bedroom TV to beam info about it to the Harmony remote. I think this was because I couldn't find the model number of the TV, so it told me to go through a routine and the Harmony picked up on what the old remote was saying. That was the only remote I needed to do that with.

I looked on the hardware list and the Magnadyne was not listed. This is not to say that it wouldn't work. However, the Harmony may be a bit clunky to use when driving. It may be better to just use the little remote that came with it.

Next time I am messing with the remote, I will try to program the Magnadyne in there and post up what I find (unless M*Momma beats me to it )


--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 04:57 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
I was told by Logitech that the 9900DVDS model would be listed under a mini-system when they put it up...whereas the 9900CD is listed under amplifiers right now. I won't have time to mess with it until Friday at the earliest.
I will take the laptop out to the Diplomat along with the phone in case I need to call Logitech tech support. If they have not added the the DVDS then you would train the remote just as Kev did with his bedrooom TV remote.
I will keep you posted.



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 05:48 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I know that I had to use a remote for my bedroom TV to beam info about it to the Harmony remote. I think this was because I couldn't find the model number of the TV </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Hey Kev...
Did you look through your Monaco "Owners Manuals" stuff to get the model number from the TV's owner's manual?



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 06:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by MonacoMama:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I know that I had to use a remote for my bedroom TV to beam info about it to the Harmony remote. I think this was because I couldn't find the model number of the TV </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Hey Kev...
Did you look through your Monaco "Owners Manuals" stuff to get the model number from the TV's owner's manual? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did - it gave two model numbers in the manual and I obviously tried the wrong one


--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 09:31 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
Which one did you choose and can you post a pic of your TV. I wonder if I might have the same problem when I start tomorrow!...
Info ... pretty please!



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 10:37 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
I have it in as a "Monitor" (since I was using TV for the front LCD). The model that is registered in Harmony is RCA20V412T. Seems to work fine.





--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 07:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 164
I have a 2006 Admiral SE. Among all the remotes that came with the unit when it was delivered, the credit card sized IR remote for the Magnadyne 9900CD radio was NOT included. I recently purchased a remote from the dealer, as the radio is in a horrible (almost dangerous) position behind the steering wheel and gear shift lever.

Seems like many of you (all diesels) received the remote with your vehicle. Can anyone else among the gas ranks comment if you did or did not receive the remote with your vehicle.
__________________
2016 Newmar Ventana 4002
2013 Honda CRV
bandcworkhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 07:22 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
The M9900CD does NOT come with a remote ... The 9900DVD model DOES come with a remote. The units look the same but are totally different.



__________________

__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Spotlamp Teknoguy National RV Owner's Forum 5 10-11-2008 02:57 PM
JAMO - remote Techie Country Coach Owners Forum 3 01-23-2008 02:15 PM
Bushman is Home 5,780 Miles went under the Motor Home! Bushman512003 Canada Region 16 04-25-2007 03:01 PM
Home again Home again jiggity jig Chandler Bing Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 03-02-2006 05:49 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×