RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2014, 12:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Roaming Fulltimer
Posts: 406
Residential fridge over furnace in 2004 Diplomat DST (1.5 bath)

I've seen some good posts on here about replacing the Norcold 1200 with the Samsung 197 french door unit. My 1200 belched ammonia this weekend, so time for an upgrade.

Thing is, like many others there is a furnace under the fridge. I measured and from the ceiling to the top of the furnace is 68.5". To complicate, there is a fluorescent light in the ceiling the doors must clear (about 1/2"). So, I believe the Samsung is out of the question, even with the wheels off.

I see the Fisher & Paykel is 67.5" total. Anyone know if the wheels can come off that unit to make it a bit shorter?

Further, would it be feasible to create a new subfloor for the fridge "around" the furnace in such a way that the top of the furnace is flush with or even a bit higher than the surrounding subfloor?

What I am wondering is if there is additional clearance underneath the center of the fridge, assuming the wheels/feet are along the outer edges? If so, the fridge "feet" could actually be a bit below the top of the furnace. Still, not sure you'd want the furnace and fridge that close together... Thoughts?

__________________

tkcas01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-19-2014, 02:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Lee0920's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wickenburg,Az
Posts: 137
Looks like you could gain a few inches by dropping that floor down on top of the furnace, doesn't look strong enough to hold up a full blown refrig.
__________________

__________________
Lee, Judy & Pepper
06 Beaver Patriot Thunder 42 525
13 Honda CR-V EXL Toad. Az.
Lee0920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 02:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jimbo2013's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,708
drop in a 5/8 ply floor put insulation board under it.
__________________
Newmar Ventana 3933 | Miata close behind
1,060 Watts of Solar | 8 T-105 RE Batteries | Outback controls
HR 38 Endeavor
jimbo2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 04:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
CJScepter's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: McCleary,wa
Posts: 354
I have a (HR) DST model also, be sure to check the clearance around the furnace, it needs clearance for the return air. I am having trouble with that furnace cycling, I have replaced the limit switch, control board, and checked other things, if I leave the outside door open it doesn't cycle,,, so I think it needs more incoming air. There are clearance spec's in the manual. It does appear from your pic, you may have more clearance above, not sure. The furnace gets it's return air from the top and side of the furnace box. I plan to cut some more louvers in box, hope it will fix mine.
Good luck,
John G.
__________________
John and Cherrie
2003 Holiday Rambler Scepter 40DST
Pushed By 2003 Ford Explorer
CJScepter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 05:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Roaming Fulltimer
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJScepter View Post
I have a (HR) DST model also, be sure to check the clearance around the furnace, it needs clearance for the return air. I am having trouble with that furnace cycling, I have replaced the limit switch, control board, and checked other things, if I leave the outside door open it doesn't cycle,,, so I think it needs more incoming air. There are clearance spec's in the manual. It does appear from your pic, you may have more clearance above, not sure. The furnace gets it's return air from the top and side of the furnace box. I plan to cut some more louvers in box, hope it will fix mine.
Good luck,
John G.
Are you saying you've always had this issue with the furnace or did you modify the cabinet for a new fridge? Yes there is currently 3" between the top of the furnace and the bottom of the fridge subfloor, but for a residential fridge to fit this space will be needed.

Thanks for the tip to be conscious of return air.
tkcas01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 06:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chesapeake va
Posts: 35
Diplomat Don has a great explanation on how to install the Samsung.search his post to find
Cfnocn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 07:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Roaming Fulltimer
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cfnocn View Post
Diplomat Don has a great explanation on how to install the Samsung.search his post to find
Yep, that was one of the "good posts" I was referring to, found here:

Samsung RF197 Install with Propane Heater

Unfortunately for me, as he says the Samsung needs just under 70" between the top of the furnace and the ceiling. As I stated, I have just 68.5" so the Samsung will not work for me.

Thanks to others on here I am looking at the Fisher & Paykel 17 cu. ft. It is only 67.5" overall, so I have an inch to spare. I need a half inch off the ceiling for the doors to clear a ceiling light. That leaves just another half inch off the top of the furnace. TIGHT!

I have found nothing else in a decent size fridge that has a chance of fitting within these tolerances and would be better not to have a half-inch of material taking up space between the fridge and furnace.
tkcas01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 05:08 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
DtBt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saint Leonard,MD
Posts: 745
I put a RF197 in my 99 Windsor with Suburban furnace underneath. I replaced the fluorescent fixture over the frig with a same sized Okume 4mm finished plywood with two flush mounted halogen flush spots. LED's would be better. This will gain you about 3/4". That was enough if I lowered the shelf to almost on top of furnace, removed the front wheels. To install the frig doors I had to pull frig forward and tilt the frig to get enough access to the top to put the screws in.
__________________
2005 Safari Panther Diamond IV Cat C13
2013 Avalanche Toad
DtBt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 10:23 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
JIMDI-VA's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 15
I just replaced the nocold with a Fridgidaire 16.5 over under system go through the side window in and out had to move flouresent light over 3 winched to clear freezer dor. also took top trim out removed leveler legs and retracted wheels. floor of furnace holds the regridge ok ice maker works great space is unbelieveable and the inverter works for up to 5 hours before generator kicks in. life is good without that pos nocold

Jim & Diane
__________________
2000 Windsor 38 PBS, 2012 JEEP LIBERTY TOAD,, DW- Princess DI, DD- GUS:, Let the good times Roll!
JIMDI-VA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 01:08 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
adonh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMDI-VA View Post
I just replaced the nocold with a Fridgidaire 16.5 over under system go through the side window in and out had to move flouresent light over 3 winched to clear freezer dor. also took top trim out removed leveler legs and retracted wheels. floor of furnace holds the regridge ok ice maker works great space is unbelieveable and the inverter works for up to 5 hours before generator kicks in. life is good without that pos nocold

Jim & Diane
What is the model # on the Frigidaire 16.5 over under system.
__________________
Don
2003 Forest River Cardinal Platinum 37' 5th Wheel
1976 31' Airstream
adonh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:54 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
CJScepter's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: McCleary,wa
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkcas01 View Post
Are you saying you've always had this issue with the furnace or did you modify the cabinet for a new fridge? Yes there is currently 3" between the top of the furnace and the bottom of the fridge subfloor, but for a residential fridge to fit this space will be needed.

Thanks for the tip to be conscious of return air.
I looked at clearance on my furnace, I have about 2 1/4 " above blower area. Your furnace may be alittle different, mine is an Atwood 8525-IV-DCLP, from your pic the intake area looks to different. Maybe they changed things, my coach was built in October 2002. I still have the original Norcold unit.
John G
__________________
John and Cherrie
2003 Holiday Rambler Scepter 40DST
Pushed By 2003 Ford Explorer
CJScepter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 06:30 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
JIMDI-VA's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 15
Frigidaire model FFTR1715LW
__________________
2000 Windsor 38 PBS, 2012 JEEP LIBERTY TOAD,, DW- Princess DI, DD- GUS:, Let the good times Roll!
JIMDI-VA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 07:37 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 220
I recently replaced my Norcold 1200 with a 15 cu in fridge. Almost any brand of this size will fit in the opening without modifications. I also had the furnace under the fridge. Got mine delivered from Sears but can't remember the brand. Had lots of choices
__________________
2003 HR Imperial PKDD 40
bgholson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 06:03 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 35
I replaced my old 1200 with a Fisher & Paykel . Had to lower floor closer to the furnace and have had no problems in 3 yrs. also, went thru the front door on my 2000 Dip.
__________________

racer478r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Residential fridge & boondocking bluegrassrv RV Systems & Appliances 22 01-09-2014 08:38 AM
Residential fridge install ? jimbo2013 Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 01-08-2014 12:20 PM
Residential Fridge? homeless RV Systems & Appliances 48 10-06-2013 08:18 PM
Residential fridge G.G. RV Systems & Appliances 4 06-23-2013 10:29 AM
buying a 2004 Monaco Diplomat trigud Full-Timers 5 06-09-2013 08:47 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×