Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2010, 04:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 572
Rewiring Generator

Any one have any experience rewiring their Onan 7.5 Diesel ginny to get 220 volts out of it as well as the two 110 volt circuits?
Thanks,
Greg
__________________

__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-19-2010, 04:49 PM   #2
adj
Senior Member
 
adj's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: middleburg,fl
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahon1993 View Post
Any one have any experience rewiring their Onan 7.5 Diesel ginny to get 220 volts out of it as well as the two 110 volt circuits?
Thanks,
Greg
I guess I'm missing something---- If you read across the 110V legs, you should have 220V.
__________________

__________________
Dale & Betty

04 Lapalma 33'
adj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 572
The way the generator is set up is that there are two seperate 110 volt legs. Reading across the two 110 volt hot terminals gets you nothing. I want to be able to get 220 out of it so I can use it to power up my well pump at home during a power failure. I am currently using a too small portable gas generator for power failures that has trouble statring my 220 volt well pump.
Greg
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:20 PM   #4
adj
Senior Member
 
adj's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: middleburg,fl
Posts: 573
OK. I stand corrected. The generator puts out two 120V of the same phase. I'm not sure it can be rewired for 220V output.
__________________
Dale & Betty

04 Lapalma 33'
adj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:24 PM   #5
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 20,702
I don't believe it's possible. It's my understanding that it only generates 120V.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP


Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 08:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
caymann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NH
Posts: 286
Only Onan 10kW and 12.5kW can do that. These have real 240VAC outputs
ie two 120V with opposite phase. The smaller size Generators are inverter based
and cannot provide two 120V output with opposite phase, thus a zero volts across them
__________________
2001 Monaco Executive 43', CTD ISM
2011 Honda CR-V AWD
2008 BMW R1200GS Motorcycle
caymann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 07:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by adj View Post
OK. I stand corrected. The generator puts out two 120V of the same phase. I'm not sure it can be rewired for 220V output.

A lot depends on the junction box. MANY generators can indeed be rewired.. Consult the owner's manual to see if your can

220 volt is a single phase. it is not two 110 volt out of phase windings

It is two 110 volt windings in PHASE but "Stacked

So you have

a-----b-----c

A to b 110
B to c 110
A to C 220

NOTE if you wish to use 120 and 240.. Same concept.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 572
As far as I got was to open the cover to the connections on the gererator. There is a green ground, one white netural and two hots, red and black. There are two netural connections on the term strip with one feed and a jumper between them.
I get zero volts between the two hots. 120 from either hot to netural or ground.
I'll have to open the book and look at the schematic and see hows it's wired. I don't have too much hope on getting 220 out of it. Maybe I need a heafty step up xformer to get my 220v.
Greg
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 11:14 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
May be easier to rewire your pump for 110v. That is what I did during Hurricane Rita. That way I ran it off a small gasoline generator.
__________________

__________________
Boiler Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running the generator while on shore power? Magumba Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-14-2010 09:03 PM
Onan Generator Quits On Start With No Load Birddog Pilot Alpine Coach Forum 26 08-11-2008 11:49 AM
Generator only putting out a few volts AC TallPaul RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-25-2007 03:57 PM
Generator Coolant Level OldForester Alpine Coach Forum 8 10-25-2007 06:56 AM
Generator wont start (or even crank) Problem. SouthernGypsy MH-General Discussions & Problems 26 07-13-2007 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.