RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2007, 08:02 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tom N:
...
Do you have your inverter turned ON?? Turn the inverter OFF and check voltages again.

-Tom </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I do have it on. I typically never turn it off when I plug into shore power. However, when I did turn it off and checked, there was no change in the voltage. It seems, however, that all of the outlets that are on the same circuit as the inverter are the ones that are low. I can not speak in terms of "all" or "none", but of the outlets I can check, seems that is the pattern.

I just checked the outside post, and each leg is 111/112V, and across is ~237V. I am running 1 A/C (the other one is inop at the moment), water heater on gas, fridge on electric.


--kev
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-03-2007, 08:03 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Pusherpilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SD
Posts: 1,022
Pretty big imbalance on the two legs of the 50a circuit. Does your coach have a way to measure the amps on each circuit? Voltages as low as 104 are not good for the parts of the RV that have to run on it. If you have a meter, unplug the coach and measure the voltage at the plug on the pedestal. If it's low there too then the park is the problem. If the drop is seen after you plug in then you've got a problem in the coach. I've had the problem at a couple of parks and it usually is the receptacle on the pedestal that's the problem. High resistance will cause this.

Ron
__________________

__________________
2004 HR Imperial
Pusherpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:16 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
ronboc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,256
To expand on what pusherpilot said...

The high-resistance in the park-wiring could cause a low-voltage reading at the pedestal AFTER you plug in the coach - indicating that the coach is loading down the line (as it should) but the line isn't able to handle it, therefore it will begin to 'sag'. In either case, t'aint your fault, it's theirs.

I'm also a VERY strong advocate of a surge-protector (Progressive Industries, Surge-Guard, and probably more) that monitor high as well as low voltage conditions. Can't speak highly enough of them, when ya consider all the expensive & sensitive (kind of synonymous, ain't it?) stuff we have these days.

Mine works well (I have the Progressive Industries one), it's tripped off several times when line has gone over 135 V !!! You can also get 'em with remote voltage/current monitors for each leg.


I realize it may be closing the barn-door after the horses are out, but food for future thought.
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - -

'06 HR Endeavor 40PAQ (Mission Hills decor). All options, but still finding more to add.
ronboc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:19 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Pond Piggies Club
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 4,653
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RonNBama:
Momma, the Kill-a-watt thingies are great. Cost is about $20-$25 and the toy is worth the investmant. You can see just how much power your coffee pot and hairdryer uses. I have verified the operation of my voltage booster by watching the display when a load kicks in. Neat gadget. Put on Sac's wish list. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have a Kill-A-Watt but can't figure out a use for it. I can check voltage with a multimeter. All appliances list the wattage on their label. It would be useful if I could hard wire it in at the breaker box but the Kill-A-Watt will only handle a max of 1500 watts.

I often see them online for less than $20 shipping included.

Kill-A-Watt $18.89 http://www.supermediastore.com/kilwateldet1.html

-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L

Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 12:05 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
ronboc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,256
Good point, Tom. They are a bit limited in their total capacity, but still have a lot of use nonetheless. I went thru the entire coach with mine and measured the load from each appliance/tool/etc, and then wrote it on the bottom/back with a Sharpee Marker.

Told wife that the maximum draw was 50amps (based on the sum of items involved) and any more was going to blow MY fuse as well as that of the coach. Seems to work well so far Only one problem since then, and that was caused by .... well, let's just say she wasn't to blame
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - -

'06 HR Endeavor 40PAQ (Mission Hills decor). All options, but still finding more to add.
ronboc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 08:24 AM   #20
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,948
Check your transfer switch for loose wiring connections double check the ones going to your load center fuse box and also check terminations in the load box.
If you run your generator do you have different readings on your two sides of your load box.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 05:28 PM   #21
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,058
Blog Entries: 22
I want to hear what you eventually find here. This is a perplexing problem. Keep us posted please.

As for the KillAWatt thing, it is limited in how much it can handle since it plugs into a 20-amp receptacle. I just keep mine plugged in all the time and can do a voltage/frequency check with a quick glance.
__________________
(1984 Barth Regal)
(1998 Monaco Dynasty)
2001 Monaco Executive
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 06:40 PM   #22
Registered User
 
SacsTC's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 846
Bama,
Take a look under the RV systems forum for the newest on what he found.
SacsTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 10:58 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
Thanks again for the replies. I posted this question in the RV Systems forum and got some more suggestions. Thread here - Voltage Variation

I took care of that burnt wire, but it is still fluctuating enough to make me think there is another loose connection.

As mentioned, I will try the generator tomorrow. Today, I used a 30-&gt;50A adapter and plugged into a 30A socket. Received the same results.

The only other interesting piece of info is that voltage drop doesn't occur as much at night. Tonight I ran a few appliances and watched the voltage drop very little. That hints to me that there may be an issue in the post, but it meters fine when I am unplugged.

--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 04:45 AM   #24
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,058
Blog Entries: 22
Ahhhhh, I started to mention a neutral connection but I figured the voltage variance would have been much greater than what you were showing. I had that problem on the plug of my 50-amp cable and was getting 90V and one leg and 137 on the other!

Awwrrite! Chalk up another one for Internet TroubleShooting! Glad you got it fixed.
__________________
(1984 Barth Regal)
(1998 Monaco Dynasty)
2001 Monaco Executive
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 05:33 AM   #25
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
Kev...
I am curious if you found what that wire feeds?



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 07:51 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by MonacoMama:
Kev...
I am curious if you found what that wire feeds? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did not figure that out.


kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 12:36 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 18
Kev ,
I do not know if you are still fighting your problem but you may want to invest in a fox and hound type tester to find where that wire goes. There also is some concern over the discoloration at least to me on,the red wire in your picture. None of the neutrals should be brownish and from the looks of the neutral wire that burned there is a loose connection somewhere in the coach. Do they use romex in coaches or single wire type manufacturing ?
__________________
2003 Dodge Quad cab Pat Blue DRW 2wd

2004 29 ft HR Savoy
BurpL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 01:41 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by BurpL:
... Do they use romex in coaches or single wire type manufacturing ? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I am still chasing this a bit. I think I am chalking most of the voltage problem to the state park we were just in. We are now at another campground where only two of us are plugged into 50A service (heh - me and a 4-A/C unit Prevost), and I am having steady voltage now. I plan on having the factory follow up on the wiring when I take it into them.

AKAIK, there is Romex running throughout the coach for 120V service, and single wire for 12V.

Today I took the cover off of the front A/C and dug around a bit. If I had to guess, I think there is probably a problem with the compressor start capacitor. There is a bit of black ooze coming out the top. I drove around to several RV parts places and nobody seems to carry anything like that in stock.

I have a service appointment on Monday the 23rd for the A/C, but was hoping I could save myself the time by fixing it myself. We are about to melt here....


kev
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Weekend Out Trip Jon p Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
weekend trip Budster Truck Camper Discussion 2 11-14-2006 09:39 AM
rough shifting laborinvainer Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 9 10-19-2006 09:30 AM
Weekend Trip melon Toy Haulers Discussion 17 09-08-2005 08:07 PM
A Weekend Trip to Houston JayC South Central Region 11 06-16-2005 04:04 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×