Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2011, 02:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Sirius and Magnadyne radio problem

I have a 2011 Monoco Monarch that has the Magnadyne M1-CD Sirius ready radio and the Sirius antenna and SCC1 receiver. I activated the Sirius service and pushed the mode button to tune to Sirius and attempted to tune to channel 184 as directed. The screen only displays a check tuner message. I checked all fuses and connections and all checked out OK.
I contacted Sirius and they told me that I had a signal to the antenna and receiver, and said it was a radio problem.
I then contacted Magnadyne and they said it was a Sirius problem.
I have spent 3 days and exhausted all troubleshooting methods to no avail.
If someone has a suggestion or cure please let me hear it.
Thanks in advance.
Russ
__________________

__________________
Russ T Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2011, 04:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bullydogs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 401
There were 2 tuners for that thing and you might have the wrong one...Call Monaco...ask if the build sheet shows the SIRIUS model #...that's what happened to me..they put in the wrong decoder and they had to substitute the right one;...I have the motorhome about 3 miles away and won't be at it until the next day or two but I can try to find mine to see what model it is..
__________________

__________________
Stuart and Stella Denning
2009 HR Endeavor 41SKQ
3 Bullies and a Diesel Pusher
bullydogs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:43 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Bullydog1
Thanks for the reply, my Sirius tuner is a SCC1bl, and my research shows thats there is a SCC1m ( proably marine). I don't know if you can mix these tuners with the Magnadyne radio. No one from Sirius or Magnadyne knows and Monoco has not been of any help. I found that there is a thing known as a Sirius connect interface translator and I'm wondering if this is whats needed to translate the signal for my radio, however this unit has been discountinued by the manufacturer. In this case I may have an obsolete tuner. I know that when you buy a new MH that there will be bugs to be worked out but this is getting frustrating.
Russ
__________________
Russ T Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 08:33 AM   #4
Member
 
Stevepkam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Stevepkam Send a message via Yahoo to Stevepkam
Russ,
Does your regular radio, AM and FM work well? My new Monarch has problems in this area. Maybe getting Serius to work would solve that problem for us as we wouldn't to listen to AM andFM.
__________________
Steve & Jean Kammerer
2011 Monaco Monarch 33SFS,
Thousand Oaks, CA
Stevepkam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 10:20 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
I have solved the problem, it appears that Monoco installed the wrong Sirius tuner. I discovered that my unit was a SCC1bl which online resources indicated was for a Jensen radio, the proper one is the SCC1m (M for Magnadyne) I went to Best Buy and they looked up the correct tuner for the Magnadyne radio. $65.00 later I had a working Sirius connection. Now after 4 days of effort on my part, I hope someone will reimburse me my $65.00.
Thank's to all those that tried to help.
Russ
And yes all the functions on the radio except Sirius did work.
__________________
Russ T Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 12:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bullydogs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 401
So you were not alone in the problem...we both had the same one...and the AM/FM reception stinks in the thing due to a poor antenna and bad ground plane on the top of the motorhome...the Sirius radio antenna is separate and it works fine...we use basically only CD's or Sirius and use the weather radio if we are unsure of anything else...I don't think I've used AM/FM 5 x since I've owned the motorhome. Wife hates commercial radio..
__________________
Stuart and Stella Denning
2009 HR Endeavor 41SKQ
3 Bullies and a Diesel Pusher
bullydogs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 05:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Golfingene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California, Nevada, Arizona
Posts: 53
We just picked up our new Diplomat last weekend. We had to wait until Monday to have them put in the Sirius receiver behind the radio. It was there, just not connected. Had a magnadyne in my previous coach, hated it. Put in an after market Panasonic with XM radio and loved it, hated to leave it in the old coach.
__________________

__________________
Gene & Mary Lou
2011 Monaco Diplomat 43 DFT
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
Golfingene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radio



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magnadyne Radio Help. laplatarosa Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 07-26-2010 07:44 PM
Magnadyne - Sirius radio problem MSgt Monaco Owner's Forum 5 10-30-2009 04:01 PM
Magnadyne radio MSgt Monaco Owner's Forum 1 09-14-2009 10:15 AM
Just Upgraded my Magnadyne Radio Robin_M Monaco Owner's Forum 26 08-31-2009 10:44 PM
Magnadyne DVD Problem - Possible Fix Robin_M Monaco Owner's Forum 21 07-06-2009 07:58 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.