Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-17-2010, 08:03 AM   #1

Slides, Leveling, Engine - Puzzled Rookie?

I'm a relative newbie (four months full-timing). As I've learned about my coach and researched the forums I've noticed some quirky things that seem to relate mostly to Monaco motor homes.

As I understand it, here are the rules from Monaco/Lippert/CAT:

1. Slides can only be extended/retracted when the engine is not running and the coach is at full ride height. The basic rule is extend slides first, then level.

2. The Lippert auto leveling system can only be operated with the engine running.

3. The CAT C-9 engine should only be started when one intends to drive the coach at least enough miles to bring the engine/transmission up to normal, full operating temperatures.

If I follow these rules correctly, what this means in practice is the following:

1. When leaving camp, start engine, retract jacks and wait for coach to achieve full ride height and full air pressure.

2. Shut off engine and retract slides.

3. Re-start engine and drive off.

4. In a similar manner, when arriving at camp, shut off engine, extend slides, re-start engine, run auto leveling, then shut off engine.

Therefore, the engine must be started TWICE, both on arrival and departure.