Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2017, 09:32 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Golfer Guy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: out west
Posts: 428
Thermostats go blank

Having an issue with both five button thermostats blanking out occasionally. I have no idea what is causing this as the HVAC is not even being used when it happens. I spoke to the guys at Beaver Coach Works in Bend and was told they have seen this before. Said to pull the fuse to the thermostats located in the Intelletec panel and put it back in. That will reset the system. Sure enough it fixed the problem. I have had to pull that fuse to reset the system a half dozen times over the past month. The fuse is never blown just needs a restart.

Would like to know if any of you have experienced this and know what the root cause could be. Gremlins lurking for sure.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
2006 38' Beaver Monterey
400HP Cat C9, 600W Solar
2014 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Golfer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-08-2017, 09:43 AM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 30,939
That's a common problem with the CCC 5-button thermostats. Below is the reset procedure for them.

16. SYSTEM RESET
a. Turn the ON/OFF switch to “OFF” position.
b. Simultaneously depress and hold the MODE and ZONE
push-buttons while turning the ON/OFF switch to “ON”.
FF should appear in the LCD display until the MODE
and ZONE push-buttons are released.
c. When a dip switch is turned on or off after initial configu
ration, a system reset will need to be done before the
Comfort Control CenterTM will recognize the updated selection.
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 09:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Golfer Guy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: out west
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
That's a common problem with the CCC 5-button thermostats. Below is the reset procedure for them.

16. SYSTEM RESET
a. Turn the ON/OFF switch to “OFF” position.
b. Simultaneously depress and hold the MODE and ZONE
push-buttons while turning the ON/OFF switch to “ON”.
FF should appear in the LCD display until the MODE
and ZONE push-buttons are released.
c. When a dip switch is turned on or off after initial configu
ration, a system reset will need to be done before the
Comfort Control CenterTM will recognize the updated selection.
Thanks Joe for the quick reply.

My question is: if I go through the reset procedure you have outlined is that all there is for a permanent fix? This won't mess up any programming will it? I haven't messed with any dip switches.
__________________
2006 38' Beaver Monterey
400HP Cat C9, 600W Solar
2014 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Golfer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 11:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Captjake1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Where I happen to land
Posts: 2,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfer Guy View Post
Thanks Joe for the quick reply.

My question is: if I go through the reset procedure you have outlined is that all there is for a permanent fix? This won't mess up any programming will it? I haven't messed with any dip switches.
I just did the reset (tracking a different problem) and it didn't mess with any of the functions. The temperatures are now a wee bit closer.

I don't know of a permanent fix.
__________________
John and Debi
2008 Beaver Contessa, 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee,
28 years retired Fire Captain Tales of the Muttley Crew
Captjake1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 12:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
1CoolZ71's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 190
I had my thermostat going totally blank for no reason.

Open the AC vents on the ceiling and check all the telephone connectors
These connections can be troublesome.
Unplug and replug a few times to clean them out good.

Could be they are "wiggling" and make your thermostat lose it memory.
__________________
2005 Holiday Rambler Imperial 42PBQ -SOLD
2005 HR Navigator 45PBQ - Detroit Diesel 515 -ALL Electric

Click here for my info on Navigators
1CoolZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 12:42 PM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 30,939
Doing the reset does not screw up anything. It is also not a permanent fix. I don't think there IS a permanent fix for that!

One thing that I have found is that I had to turn off ALL florescent lights before doing the reset, otherwise it would not reset properly and show an error! I have now replaced all the florescent with LED's, but wanted to caution you about that.
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing thermostats in my 3126 Cat. RCtime Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 31 08-06-2011 08:58 AM
Installing 2 ac thermostats instead of one ger32k Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 2 09-11-2010 09:43 AM
Heads up on heater hose sizes and thermostats JimAerbus,W22,2003 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 6 10-19-2009 09:15 AM
A/C & Thermostats Chickadee Newmar Owner's Forum 14 03-16-2009 11:52 AM
Control with two thermostats?? Les Stallings Monaco Owner's Forum 13 11-28-2007 07:28 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.