RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2015, 06:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 837
Throwing GFI when plugging in

On my 04 Beaver Marquis everytime I tried to plug my coach 50 amp cable into a outlet that had a gfi on it the coach would trip the gfi. My cousin has a Patriot that is doing the same thing. I never ran into the problem at campgrounds as none of the 30 or 50 amp plug ins had gfi on them. Anyone know why this happens?
__________________

FLYING BUTCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-04-2015, 07:02 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 355
two GFI's in the same circuit will not work if one is feeding the other

Not many campgrounds have GFCI protection on their 50A and 30A supplies It is not a code requirement that these circuits be GFCI protected only the 20A outlet circuit is required to have GFCI protection
__________________

doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 09:21 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
The campground needs to remove the GFI protection on both the 30 and 50 amp circuits. It is only required on the 20 amp duplex in the camp site electrical box.

Obviously they had some jamoke working on their electrical distribution system that had no clue what they were doing. They were obviously NOT a licensed electrician.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No AC power on GFI Circuit alpinedrvr Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 41 11-12-2015 08:58 PM
GFI tripping, with inverter and transfer switch pokgunner RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-30-2015 02:50 PM
84' Holiday Rambler, Need help locating GFI Gump Vintage RV's 10 01-24-2015 10:44 PM
BUZZZZZ went the GFI pumper9x9 Country Coach Owners Forum 2 02-23-2014 10:15 AM
GFI in a 79? Shaliberty Vintage RV's 8 08-16-2013 11:18 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.