Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2012, 10:34 PM   #1
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,121
Trailer Brake Controller Fuse HELP!

I wired in a Prodigy brake controller on my neighbor's 08 Diplomat. I used the prewire installed by Monaco. The prewire has four wires, only the ground and the 12 volt power were of any use. There was no working "trigger" wire from the brake switch and the wire leading to the trailer plug was dead. I had read in other posts that the trailer brake wire to the trailer plug was dead on a lot of them.

I ran a new wire to the trailer plug which solved that issue. I picked up the "trigger" wire (brake switch) from the brake signal wire in the run bay. I'm sure most know that the typical brake switch trigger wire that can be found on the brake pedal is not there on a DP.

The brake controller worked, if you used the emergency lever, but didn't if you stepped on the brake pedal. We got a chance to look at it again this evening and determined the power coming from the brake signal wire (trigger) was only 6 volts and wasn't suffficient to make the controller work. We decided the easy fix was to just add a relay and use that 6 volt trigger to trigger the relay with a full 12 volts.

Here is the issue. During the connection process, I'm sure we momentarilly wired something wrong and lost power on the 12 volt prewire loom from Monaco. We literally checked EVERY fuse in the front run bay, rear closet and everywhere else we could find a fuse. The neighbor is leaving in the morning so we gave up for the night.

My question is......does anyone know of another location where they may have fused that 12 volt brake controller wire. There is a fuse location in the smaller fuse box in the run bay that is labelled brake controller, but the fuse is good.

I'm just wondering if Monaco ran some sort of box at the rear of the coach for the trailer plug/brake controll stuff.
__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-29-2012, 10:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Robi.1014's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 777
Don,
I'm guessing your neighbor has gone by now.

Even so, I scanned a couple of wiring diagrams that I've collected over the years. One shows a 20 amp fuse labeled "TRLR CHRG FUSE" and the circuit proceeds thru a "TRLR CHRG RLY" (relay).

I can't say where this fuse and relay are physically located, but I'm wondering out loud (to myself) if this is the circuit that is failing you.
__________________

__________________
Robi & Dale ---- Go Navy ----
2016 Winnie TOUR 42'
Tow: '08 Buick Lucerne
Robi.1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
itdave's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cornville, AZ
Posts: 1,055
Don,
Probably no help now but did you check the fuses in the Monaco 1 & 2 black boxes in the front run bay. At least on mine there are fuses in there for all of the trailer wiring maybe there is a fuse for the brake controller 12v also.
__________________
Dave & Jeri
06 Holiday Rambler Endeavor
TOAD 11 Honda CRV
itdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake, fuse



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1993 Magna Trailer Brake Controller jofo777 Country Coach Owners Forum 1 09-15-2012 06:38 AM
Prodigy Brake Controller VS. Vansco DandLBart Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 17 02-25-2012 01:23 AM
Another trailer brake wiring problem Land Barge Monaco Owner's Forum 5 04-16-2011 10:25 PM
2006 Hurricane 31d Trailer Brake Controller Sunfun Thor Industries Owner's Forum 0 04-01-2011 11:15 AM
Negative Switch Brake Wiring & Electric Brake Controller Help FOSJ Monaco Owner's Forum 4 03-28-2011 06:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.