Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-19-2010, 07:56 PM   #1

Unlocking an older Sterling towbar

I have an older Roadmaster Sterling towbar that I'm trying to use for the first time. I can't see how to unlock the towbar from the locked position at the motorhome. This prevents me from straightening the arms so I can hook to the toad. It looks as though the newer ones have the latching mechanism on a spring which you can push forward and release. This one is welded on but has a slot coming out to the right. What releases this?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-20-2010, 11:21 AM   #2

Monaco Owners Club
On mine I had to rotate the whole unit to the passenger side and unlatch it thru the slot. The whole unit swivels on the receiver. On mine the swivel was really tight so I had to apply a bit of muscle to the arms and give it a twist in a clockwise (facing the rear of the coach) direction till the pin lined up with the gap.