Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-21-2009, 10:16 AM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
Send a message via MSN to Saber77
Windshield Wiper Arm Slipping

I have a 2007 Safari Simba DP (same as a Cayman or Neptune). The driver's side windshield wiper arm is slipping on the shaft. I torqued the bolt down very tight, but it still slipped when the wipers were on high. I installed a new wiper arm from Diesel Equipment, but it just seems that there's nothing to prevent it from slipping again, that is, there are no splines in the wiper arm to mesh with the splines on the shaft and the only way to try to keep it from slipping is to torque the bolt. I tried to use a lock washer, but it made the connection too thick and there's not enough room to get the bolt fully seated on the shaft, so I just used a regular washer. It works now, but I fear it will slip ehen I encounter heavy rain.

Has anyone had a similar problem or know of a solution? Thanks.
Saber77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!