Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2012, 05:54 PM   #1
Member
 
BT-III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Saint-Sauveur, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 35
Wipers stop working

The wipers on my Dynasty 2003 stop working in any position - slow, fast, intermitent - as well as the windshiels washer function. Impossible to travel without them these days.

I checked the single fuse labelled -wiper- and the two fuses labelled - smart wheel -located in the electrical compartment below the driver window. (The cruise also commanded from the smart wheel does work).

I removed the plug near the wipers motor and with my test light I could see that no power is going through while the wife was pushing the different function buttons on the smart wheel!

Where do I go from here? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Louis
2003 Monaco Dynasty Regent 40' w/tag
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd
BT-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-03-2012, 07:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 464
If the wiper switch is ON the steering wheel you have an expensive problem. You will have to replace what is called a "clock spring". It is locate under the horn button. You will find more on this website. It is a common problem
__________________

__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2005 Holiday Rambler Navigator 43PBQ w/detroit 60 series, Lexus LX470 toad
Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:23 PM   #3
Member
 
BT-III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Saint-Sauveur, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 35
Thanks Stretch.
Yes, the wipers controls are on the steering wheel...as well as the cruise and the air horn. The cruise respond to the commands! Same for the horn! Can this clockspring not work for the wipers but for the rest of the controls that are on the steering wheel?
__________________
Louis
2003 Monaco Dynasty Regent 40' w/tag
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd
BT-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Barlow46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast Fl
Posts: 1,026
BT-III.
Before you start replacing parts in the smartwheel, take a look at this trouble-shooting link. http://www.rvtechlibrary.com/electro...leshooting.pdf
__________________
2004 F450 Chassis Cab/2002 HR 35' HR Presidential 5th wheel

2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, (Sold)
Barlow46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:56 PM   #5
Member
 
BT-III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Saint-Sauveur, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 35
Thanks guys,

Here's an update. My test was wrong. There is power going to the wiper motor. The motor is frozen and beyond repair. I am waiting for a new one from Monaco.
__________________
Louis
2003 Monaco Dynasty Regent 40' w/tag
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd
BT-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 647
Approx. what is your costs for a new wiper motor?

Thanks!
__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat Atrium model, 41'
1977 GMC Palm Beach, 26'
bukzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:11 PM   #7
Member
 
BT-III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Saint-Sauveur, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 35
@ bukzin,

Don't know at this time. Motor was ordered by my repairmen through Monaco Oregon last Wednesday. Hasn't show-up yet. Long process to clear customs. Will let you know the cost upon arrival. Stay tune.
__________________

__________________
Louis
2003 Monaco Dynasty Regent 40' w/tag
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd
BT-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.