Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Excel Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 12-29-2009, 11:51 AM   #1

Excel Owners Club
Alternatives to Excel RT 26TRW?

Hi, I'm a newbie. I tried to post this last night right after I joined, but I don't see it today so I guess I did something wrong. Please forgive me if it did get posted already.

After hours and days of looking at 5th wheels and plunging around the internet, I've tentatively decided to buy an Excel RT 26TRW. But before I do, I'd like to make sure there's not another unit that would meet my needs as well or better. This community has so much knowledge I'm pretty sure you will know if I missed something.

My wife and I will take lots of 3-5 day trips with our trail riding club (Northern Colorado Trail Riders Home) to primitive campsites in the Colorado mountains and Utah deserts. We'll drive unimproved roads and short off-road sections with two dirt bikes on the back of the camper (Hydralift or Idaho Tote). We also plan to spend a month or so of driving rough roads in Alaska. We'll pull with an '09 diesel F250 with Timbren auxiliary springs on the rear making it what I call a "stealth F350."

Three features of the 26TRW seem unique and led me to choose this model:
  • Bed slide - I can't find another unit this short with a bed slide.
  • Payload capacity - At more than 50 percent of unloaded weight, nothing I've found comes close.