Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Excel Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 03-25-2010, 07:03 AM   #1

Atwood hot-water heater mixing valve

Hi, I’ve been visiting this forum for several years and it’s been a wealth of information. I bought my Excel used over a year ago and have not had hot water over 100 degrees since I’ve had it. Not hot enough for showers or doing dishes. The problem was the mixing valve. $260. Plus labor at the dealership. Atwood has tried to make the valve tamper proof. The mixing valve is on the back of the water heater and mine has a red knob. I had to remove the valve because I did not know they had put glue inside the screw hole where the torch bit went. That’s the tamper proof part of it. I think I could have done the job without removing the valve if I had known this. After the knob has been removed its very self- explanatory. You will see two sets of spines. The small one is to adjust the temperature and the larger one is to lock the knob to prevent it from being adjusted. Since I had to remove the valve I also had to remove two lines. When I put them back on I had leaks. The washers were bad. So be prepared for that. Went to the hardware store and bought some plugs for the bypass line for a temporary fix. When I came back home I went to HD and bought two 1/2 “by 12” flexible faucet hoses to be replaced when I go back to the camper next week. It’s nice to have hot water again. BE CARE. YOU WILL NEED TO MAKE SEVERAL AJUSTMENTS to get the temperature where you want it. When I go back next week I’ll follow up with a post with what size torch bit size you will need. Thanks for a great forum.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0323100714.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	69.8 KB
ID:	3546  

fishon is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!