RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Damon
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2007, 06:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,192
I'll be the first to talk about Damon specific features.
On my '05 Daybreak the Carrier AC units and the furnace are controled only by remote control. I would like to change this to a manual wall mounted thermostat.
The biggest reason for this is because the lowest setting I can put the furnace on is 63 degrees which is a little warm sometimes but is ridiculous for just trying to keep any thing from freezing. I also don't like the way the remote counts degrees by 2 on the furnace and the AC units.
I assume the furnace thermostat is located in the AC unit but I'm not even sure of that.
The Carrier remote controlled AC units may be a new thing. Has anyone changed at least the furnace so you can have a normal wall thermostat? If so can you share what all is involved?
I guess some people like the remotes but I'd rather have the old traditional thermostat.
__________________

__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-28-2007, 06:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,192
I'll be the first to talk about Damon specific features.
On my '05 Daybreak the Carrier AC units and the furnace are controled only by remote control. I would like to change this to a manual wall mounted thermostat.
The biggest reason for this is because the lowest setting I can put the furnace on is 63 degrees which is a little warm sometimes but is ridiculous for just trying to keep any thing from freezing. I also don't like the way the remote counts degrees by 2 on the furnace and the AC units.
I assume the furnace thermostat is located in the AC unit but I'm not even sure of that.
The Carrier remote controlled AC units may be a new thing. Has anyone changed at least the furnace so you can have a normal wall thermostat? If so can you share what all is involved?
I guess some people like the remotes but I'd rather have the old traditional thermostat.
__________________

__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Roving, Datastorm users 3192
Posts: 755
I too man intrested, though my remote goes down to 50 if memory serves.

The problem i have is the temp sensor is in the AC unit, (The little nib I suspect) and if the wind is blowing it picks up way too much outside air there so it can read a room temp as much as 10-20 degrees below the real temp in the room, Most annoying

If I were to do the mod you plan (And I plan on doing it) I would find the t-stat wires on the Furnace control and simply cut them and route them to the wall stat, forget the remote system completly. I think that will work. Can not be sure but I think that will work.

Oh yes, to fix the problem I use a 12 volt clip on fan on some window trim blowing room air over the sensor, works great (used this back in my working days in the office where we had a problem much the same, worked there too, everyone thought I was nuts, till they realized it was working)
__________________
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business.
2005 Damon Intruder 377W Radio Active as WA8YXM
John-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,192
John-D, I don't know why I was so lucky to get one that only goes down to 63 degrees. Maybe I got one of the first ones.
If you cut and tap into the wires at the furnace to put a new thermostat in, will that affect the AC thermostat? or is that on a different thermostat?
I wonder where and if I could get a remote control that went down to 45 or 50 degrees. I don't know if a new remote would be all I need.
I don't know why Damon wanted to run a furnace made by a completely different mfgr thru an AC unit remote control made by Carrier.
I could foresee a problem with the furnace that could actually be a problem with the AC unit or the remote control.
What model and year is your Damon?
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 04:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Roving, Datastorm users 3192
Posts: 755
This is mostly theory since I've not yet tried it but since I have two otherwise identical units (Front and rear) and only the front one controls the Furnace. I have to think it will not matter.

One thing that will change, Currently you have a choice of Furnace or any-ac function (There are 3 AC functions, FAN, DRY, COOL) There are many times I would love to have FAN and Furnace on (Due to the way things work) and splitting the furnace off onto a thermostat of its own would in fact address this issue.

That should be the only effect on AC operations
__________________
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business.
2005 Damon Intruder 377W Radio Active as WA8YXM
John-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 05:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,192
John-D, let us know how a new thermostat works out. I may have to do that too.
I did call Carrier today and they now have their remote controls go down to 43 degrees. I had to get my serial #'s so they can see if they have every thing I need to modify mine. I should find out tomorrow.
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 05:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 139
I have a 2004 Damon with the Carrier air conditioners. I question what the Dry setting is used for?? <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by John-D:
This is mostly theory since I've not yet tried it but since I have two otherwise identical units (Front and rear) and only the front one controls the Furnace. I have to think it will not matter.

One thing that will change, Currently you have a choice of Furnace or any-ac function (There are 3 AC functions, FAN, DRY, COOL) There are many times I would love to have FAN and Furnace on (Due to the way things work) and splitting the furnace off onto a thermostat of its own would in fact address this issue.

That should be the only effect on AC operations </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
__________________
01 Country Coach Affintiy 42'
hawg6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 06:06 AM   #8
Administrator Emeritus
 
rebelsbeach's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 10,033
HEY!! Where'd you guys get those "Forum Member" titles?
__________________
2019 Grand Design Solitude 380FL fifth wheel
2017 40' Renegade Verona LE LTS (traded)
2018 F150 King Ranch Crew Cab Diesel
rebelsbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 06:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 249
Thank you Thank you for this site.

Max49, I am going to be following your investigation into a 43 defree remote closely as mine also only goes to 63. No sense in burning so much propane in the winter as I do not like to winterize but did this year due to this. Would be great to set it a 43 to prevent freezing.
__________________
2005 Damon Challenger 371
E Z Livin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 06:47 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 139
If you mean hawg6, it is from my motorcycle involvement. to iginally posted by rebelsbeach:
HEY!! Where'd you guys get those "Forum Member" titles? [/QUOTE]
__________________
01 Country Coach Affintiy 42'
hawg6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 09:10 AM   #11
Member
 
W&D+3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 89
Think he was refering to the DAMON OWNERS FORUM MEMBER title
__________________
How many famlies can say they ate 3 meals together in the same day. We do every time we go camping.

W&D+3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 03:01 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,192
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by E Z Livin:
Thank you Thank you for this site.

Max49, I am going to be following your investigation into a 43 defree remote closely as mine also only goes to 63. No sense in burning so much propane in the winter as I do not like to winterize but did this year due to this. Would be great to set it a 43 to prevent freezing. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

EZ Livin, now I have'nt gotten my little paws on it yet but I called Carrier @1-800-673-2431, talked to Randy in parts or tech dept. and he is going to send me the remote control that goes to 43 dgrees and the circuit board??? that goes in the AC for Free, including shipping. I just have to install it myself or have it installed . He said it's like a green box and just mark the wires and hook it up the same way.
Like I said I have'nt gotten it yet but I think that's awesum of them. He said they switched to the lower thermostat in week 41 of '04. Mine was built in week 20
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 05:28 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: AZ
Posts: 56
FYI -- My furnace goes down to at least 55...the lowest setting I've tried. I'm curious about a something. I was in a coach the other day just like mine except their Carrier remote has an extra heat setting at the bottom. He said that it controls the heat strip on the AC unit. He said his has it and assumed all of the Outlaws had it since it didn't show up on the options sheet. Sure enough, the AC unit on the roof says heat something. I don't recall it saying it was a heat strip but it said something to that effect. My Carrier ACs definitly lack the sticker. I would love to have a heat strip. I wonder if this can be added???
__________________
2010 Itasca Meridian 40L
LanceMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 06:14 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,192
Im sure it could be. You could call Carrier if you don't know where you could buy it tho. They seem to be real helpful.
I had a heat strip added to my Coleman AC for my last MH at CW. I didnt really like it as much as I thought I would because of the noise. But it was a non ducted AC unit.
__________________

__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote dish itsrip Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 03-31-2007 09:47 AM
Bounder: Radio Remote MaxRT Fleetwood Owner's Forum 2 01-15-2007 04:50 PM
Dimensions remote? jimandsue60 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 05-30-2006 07:07 PM
Carrier Remote Controled AC and Furnace max49 RV Systems & Appliances 6 03-20-2006 07:02 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.