RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-14-2014, 08:05 PM   #1

Thor Owners Club
2013 Thor ACE vs 2015 Thor ACE

Hello everyone. I'm amazed at how informational this site is mad great all of you are at sharing such great stories and experiences. I am brand new to RV'ing (if that's a phrase I can use) and my family and I are looking to dive in head first.

I won't bore you with the details of why we decided on the Thor ace, but sleeping capacity and price easily put it as our choice. I've read on here that Thor is a great first RV and most of the feedback has been extremely positive about Thor. My biggest concern is that I'm going to be raked over the coals regarding the final sales price. I understand that this is an issue everyone faces and it's very situationally dependent, but I was hoping to get a feel from the experts on this site as to what you think a Fair price would be for the following two options:

2013 Thor ACE 30.1 w/ 14k miles. It was used as a rental RV for the dealership selling it. Very minor wear and tear on both the inside and outside. It's listed at $69995.

The other model is a brand new 2015 Thor ace 30.1 w/ 24 miles. It's brand new and is sold by camping world which seams to be mentioned a lot on here. It's listed at $82850.

I'm not necessarily asking anyone for a specific price, but merely thoughts on if the price is in the ballpark of "normal". I think the used RV is priced a bit high when compared to the new one. How much can I expect dealers to budge when negotiating, if at all. Do dealers tend to lower the price if we pay the full price in cash?