RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2013, 04:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
ACE 29.2 Coax Issue

Does the coax cable run from the inside cabinet by the door to the outside by the shore power connector actually work? I have tried to hook up to cable tv and now I have a Wineguard Carryout satillite dish through the coax and get nothing. I have taken it end to end. Any ideas?
__________________

jburgener is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-16-2013, 04:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bdickson's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wherever the rig is parked
Posts: 8,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by jburgener View Post
Does the coax cable run from the inside cabinet by the door to the outside by the shore power connector actually work? I have tried to hook up to cable tv and now I have a Wineguard Carryout satillite dish through the coax and get nothing. I have taken it end to end. Any ideas?
Is the green light on the panel in the cabinet on or off? It should be on for antenna and off for cable TV. Also, I assume you have connected the coax to your satellite receiver box?
__________________

__________________
Bruce Dickson 2013 Thor Challenger 37GT, 5 Star Tune, Safe-T-Plus Steering Control with Air Trim, Roadmaster front and rear Sway Bars, SuperSteer rear Track Bar, Crossfires, 2018 Honda CRV . Full timers since Jan 2012.
bdickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
mfolland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 109
I discovered in our last rig (weekend warrior 40' fifth wheel) that something with the amplifier screws up the signal for both cable or satellite. This happened either with the amplifier turned on (green light on) or turned off. So my fix, was to bypass it entirely. I went straight from the wire coming from the side of the coach directly to the satellite receiver, bypassing the amplifier and splitter. All of the connections were behind the plate with the push button for the amplifier.
__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2
mfolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
mfolland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 109
OK. So curiosity got the best of me, and I had to look. The setup is similar to what I had in the last rig. I attached pictures too.

I don't have a whole lot of experience with cable, but logic says the setup in our ACEs SHOULD work with conventional, basic cable with the amplifier turned OFF

Satellite however is a completely different animal. The satellite signal doesn't like to be split (unless you have a special splitter). My experience is that the going directly from the satellite dish to the receiver is the only way that works. Going through the amplifier (whether on or off) disrupts the signal.

What I ended up doing, is poking the cable coming from the satellite though the plate, and hooking up the receiver directly to it.

Hope that makes sense.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-859745792.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	413.1 KB
ID:	37043   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3416511824.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	361.9 KB
ID:	37044  

__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2
mfolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:26 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks for the replies. I have completly taken the amplifier out of the circut, and tried cable tv and satillite dish, and still get nothing. Must be a cable or end problem.
jburgener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mfolland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 109
Does the one on the roof work? Can you take the dish up top and steal the cable going to the antenna?
Not an ideal solution, but at least it would keep you from having to string coax through the window.
__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2
mfolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Hermosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 134
On that picture, the cable that is labeled "SET", I take it that goes to teh TV. It shoulf go to both TV sets, is there a splitter in line with that that goes from 1 cable to 2?
Hermosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:49 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
mfolland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermosa View Post
On that picture, the cable that is labeled "SET", I take it that goes to teh TV. It shoulf go to both TV sets, is there a splitter in line with that that goes from 1 cable to 2?
Yes. There's a short cable that runs from the one marked "SET" to a splitter.
__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2
mfolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 05:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Gormleys's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: CO
Posts: 759
Another thing to check is the set-up on the Jensen TV. It has different setups depending upon the input supplied. If you hook up Cable and it is still on Antenna, you won't see anything. Using the remote, go to the menu and slide over to the input and change it to the appropriate input.
__________________

__________________
Colorado '15 Winnebago Forza 34T w/MKZ hybrid toad
Gormleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.