RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2014, 08:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 57
Help to identify loose cable under step Thor Ace

Anyone know the purpose of this cable?
It's on my 2012 Thor ACE 29.1
__________________

ThorEvo1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2014, 08:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by George1285 View Post
Anyone know the purpose of this cable?
It's on my 2012 Thor ACE 29.1
Sorry picture now attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	step.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	192.0 KB
ID:	66194  
__________________

ThorEvo1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 09:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jdwky's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 508
My Miramar has a random loose wire under step too. I've always hoped it was supposed to be like that :-)
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 5
2013 JKU toad
jdwky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 09:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 257
I don't recall that wire but will look when I can, I assume you have a functioning step light.
__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2
Harlee79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 57
Yes, the light is fully functioning.
ThorEvo1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 05:14 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
sanfordturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 131
I've got one just like that too. My step is fully functional and the step light is too. Perhaps another option that Thor cheaped out on?
__________________
SANFORDTURBO
2012 ACE 29.2
sanfordturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:19 AM   #7
Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanfordturbo View Post
I've got one just like that too. My step is fully functional and the step light is too. Perhaps another option that Thor cheaped out on?
I have the ACE 30.2 there was a green wire that was off under our step. Dealer fixed it. Looks like it is unplugged from some where. Check under there to see if there is a male end that fits.
Sorry not much help
snoodledog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 01:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Towertime's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Guyton, Georgia
Posts: 177
Mine has the same unused wire as well.
__________________
Towertime
2012 Thor A.C.E. 29.1
2010 Ford Escape 2012 Master Tow Dolly
Towertime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 01:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Don and Dale's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 433
George,
I have the 2013 ACE 29.2 and I have the exact same wire, including color (purple) on mine and it is not plugged into anything. Mine is neatly tucked up and out of the way by the step motor. I wonder if it's used to perform diagnostics, or a bypass on the mechanism in the event of a failure or could be used for an option for the steps (altho I don't know what that could be)? Hope it helps some.
__________________

__________________
"In the game of life, I have no need for tickets on the 50-yard line, I brought my shoes, I came to play." Unknown
Don and Dale (2015 Tiffin 32 SA with 5ST, CHF, Safe-T-Plus and EEZRV TPMS) RVM106
Don and Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 Monaco interior step cover Lawman47 Monaco Owner's Forum 4 06-06-2014 11:34 AM
Battery cable loose ace 29.2 Kkuper Thor Industries Owner's Forum 5 05-18-2014 11:06 PM
Coachmen: television cable hook up operation!?! mwwade Forest River Owners Forum 1 03-26-2014 08:41 PM
Electric step problem '01 Southwind Socaltoolguy Fleetwood Owner's Forum 6 01-22-2014 07:25 PM
Looking for help re: battery cable routing, '04 TropiCal mbrandt1402 National RV Owner's Forum 3 07-03-2013 11:53 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.