Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-08-2019, 11:19 AM   #1

Should I buy a Axis/Vegas 24.1 as my first RV?

Greetings All,

Firstly, I'm a complete rv noob ... so I'm sorry for any stupid questions.

My wife & I have decided to buy an RV, so here is my story:

Here is a list of our needs/uses... at least for now:
  • I'm a teacher and have the summers off... so lots of extended trips (2-3 weeks) usually just me and my wife. However, there might be a few times with friends (total of 4 people max... including me/wife) for shorter periods (7-10 days)
  • My wife wants to have "girls" weekend trips with 3-4 total people
  • We like to hike and I do landscape photography, so lots of park visits out west

So based on this, I started the search...
  • My first thought was to buy a class-b van, but after seeing the prices ... I decided to buy an empty B-class van (ProMaster) and customize it myself. I'm cabinet maker/furniture builder (hobby) and the only tricky part for me would be electric.
  • So I took my wife to look at some finished class b vans (Pleasure Way...) but it was a "no go" for her. The b vans were just too small for her.
  • PLAN B... after surfing the interwebs for weeks, I discovered the Axis/Vegas 24.1. The wife likes the size/layout... Not too big, yet big enough for our needs
So now I have some questions that maybe you can help me with:
  1. Would the Axis/Vegas 24.1 be a good RV for my needs?
  2. To the Axis/Vegas 24.1 owners... what are your thoughts about your rv?