RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Navistar MaxxForce Engine Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2017, 12:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,337
Anybody tried the Navistar OnCommand Link?

I ran across this device last week and ordered one. I have always had issues getting my ECM updated along with a 300 mile round trip to the closest dealer. So even though this little device is expensive it will be worth it for me if it works as intended.

To see the Health reports you need to sign up for OnCommand Connection service (free) where you enter your VIN and other info.

I got the Link device and connected it to my J1939 port and went through the process of getting it connected to my WiFi network and checking for updates. It is a little slow to do things but eventually it did the firmware update and uploaded the health report to the Navistar server. Later I was able to access my OnCommand Connection account and see the health report…cool. Next I attempted to do the ECM calibration and I followed the instruction up to where it say’s to turn off the ignition key and wait, at that point it stopped working. Well of yea… turning off the key turns off the power to the link device so it quits. I started an “Incident” with them and am currently waiting for a resolution. I will update this thread when I have more information.

It is supposed to work on 2010 and up MaxxForce 7 and 10 ECM’s.

https://info.oncommandconnection.com/ota

YouTube Videos:


__________________

__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer.
Dennis_K is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-19-2017, 01:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,337
OnCommand Link Update.

The update issue ended up being the Motorhome was wired wrong. The J1939 port is supposed to be powered from the battery not the ignition switch. On my coach, fuse F9 in the front chassis electrical bay is labeled "IGN+ DIAGNOSTICS PLUG, ALARM". I just pulled the fuse and powered that lead from an unused battery fuse. Tried the calibration again and in less than 15 minutes I was all current. The process worked just like the instructions showed and considerably easier and faster than going to a dealer.

The cost for the OnCommand Link device was $500 for me. Hopefully the price will drop once it's been around for awhile. All you need is a good WiFi signal inside the coach, a WiFi computer, phone, or pad, and time to go through the processes as needed. And the device is not keyed to you or your motorhome so you can share/rent/sell it to others.

For me the closest dealer that will work on a Motorhome is over 150 miles away and my experiences with 3 of the last 4 times I tried to get a update done were poor to a waste of time. So, for me, the cost was a no brainier to save the frustration alone. And you have the advantage of getting health reports that show lots of information including any errors. Unfortunately the ability to view the detail of what the error is can only be accessed by dealers. The device offers real time data, not really something we need.

The tech personal I talked with were all great and didn't care that I had a motorhome, they just wanted to help. How refreshing!
__________________

__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer.
Dennis_K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 07:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Traps90's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,388
Thanks for all the info and especially the update. Looks like this could be a worth while investment.
__________________
Trap, Jan and the Pup
2013 Monaco Diplomat 43dft
2010 Black Jeep Liberty
Traps90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 04:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Denniscw's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 414
Did you ever think of renting the device to interested Navistar owners?
__________________
Denniscw
2011 Serrano 31X, 2006 CR-V
Denniscw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 01:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denniscw View Post
Did you ever think of renting the device to interested Navistar owners?
Yes, that is why I noted that ability it in my post. I am not setup to do that myself at this time. It sure would be good for a dealer to offer that service.
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer.
Dennis_K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 01:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Troutdale, Oregon
Posts: 886
Does this work on a Mac? Yes expensive, but, how much would a dealer charge?
RWeigant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 01:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWeigant View Post
Does this work on a Mac? Yes expensive, but, how much would a dealer charge?
It works with any device that has WiFi. You can use your phone if you want. You do need a good WiFi connection near the motorhome.
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer.
Dennis_K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 07:59 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Long Island Mac's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: BABYLON LONG ISLAND
Posts: 500
Interesting. Living on Long Island, no International dealer will take on a motor home. A nice dealer in Babylon, updated the computer, after I convinced the manager, that is all I wanted. Took him 20 minutes, and no fee!! I later dropped of some refreshment for the mgr and the one who did the work. Might look into the device. As always, there is always something to see on IRV2.com.
__________________
Tom, Jan with Papillon, Candy
'13 (60th annaversary) AMBASSADOR 40' DFT
/FORD EDGE Don't dream your life away, but live your dream
Long Island Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 11:23 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 100
Just ordered one. Will let you know details once I get it hooked up. Stan
__________________
Stan & Mary, Maggie the Canine Princess and Lucy a Princess in Training....

2013 Holiday Rambler 36 pft, 2014 Cadillac SRX toad
36PFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 10:48 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,337
Din't forget to add the 12v supply wire if your J1939 plug is only powered when the ignition is on.
I can post a picture if you need it.
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer.
Dennis_K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 08:15 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 100
That will be a big help. Thank's Stan
__________________
Stan & Mary, Maggie the Canine Princess and Lucy a Princess in Training....

2013 Holiday Rambler 36 pft, 2014 Cadillac SRX toad
36PFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 03:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,337
This is how I did the wiring.

On mine the top connector of F9 fuse is the supply to the J1939 connector under the dash. I used the the F62 fuse for the battery source because it seemed like a good accessible location. I used an "Add-a-circuit Fuse TAP Adapter" for a permanent connection but you could just use a jumper wire with alligator clips for a temporary connection. I filed down a 1/4" male spade connector to fit the fuse socket. The connection locations are significant as shown.

Make sure you read the instructions before starting. If your OnCommand Link is an early model the firmware will need to be updated first.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8911.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	233.6 KB
ID:	202684   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8900.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	298.0 KB
ID:	202685  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8887.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	441.2 KB
ID:	202686  
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer.
Dennis_K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2018, 07:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 100
Hi Finally got the time to get On Command hooked up and get connected. I am up to date with the upgrades. I sent the report to Navistar. Thanks for the wiring diagram. Stan
__________________
Stan & Mary, Maggie the Canine Princess and Lucy a Princess in Training....

2013 Holiday Rambler 36 pft, 2014 Cadillac SRX toad
36PFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 02:30 PM   #14
Member
 
markulmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 58
Has anyone else purchased and used OnCommand with a MaxxForce7 (2007EPA) in a motorhome?
__________________

markulmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
navistar



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Tried DTNA E-Link vehicle interface dpinvidic Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 1 01-18-2017 11:00 AM
Anybody Tried This Yet... Mikeflyme Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 04-05-2013 08:02 PM
Navistar Introduces OnCommand Connection for Trucking Industry DriVer Monaco Owner's Forum 5 03-27-2012 07:12 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.