Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Navistar MaxxForce Engine Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 02-24-2012, 07:41 PM   #1

Monaco Owners Club
MaxxForce 10 405hp / 1250ft.lbs torque

I thought I would chime in here, having twice test driven the new MaxxForce 10, in a new Monaco Diplomat 43dft I thought I would give my opinions.

While I'm no expert I thought I would add my impression of the new Engine. As far as I could tell it does not give up anything to the Cummins ISL 8.9 engine in terms of performance.

The 3 Stage Jake brake worked as well also. The engine was smooth quiet and a pleasure to drive.

From a driving standpoint I would say that I wouldn;t hesitate to buy the new engine.

I won't get into pros or cons of the pollution control systems as I have no real preference to either sytem offered between Cummins and Navistar.

Just wanted to let everyone know that from a driving standpoint it was a nice engine that held it;s own.

Trap
Traps90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!