RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 01-06-2019, 05:27 PM   #1

1999 ISB 5.9 Power steering pump?

I think that is what it is. it's on the bottom of passenger side, has a hose around 1 1/2" OD goes to the side of the engine. is this correct, what is the hose for? mine has a big hole in it and oil all over the place. I am new to diesels any help would be appreciated so I can order the correct hose.

I did get the cracked surge tank out, not a lot of fun

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-06-2019, 07:36 PM   #2

American Coach Owners Club
Yes, your description is the power steering pump. It also supplies hyd pressure to the engine cooling fan as well. ....you should be able to safely scoot under coach and see it.
Follow it to where it connects to pump. Is it held on with a hose clamp or a big fitting?
The one with hose clamp is fluid supply, low pressure, you may be able to cut some the hose off use a push on fitting union and only get by. This hose runs from tank to pump, maybe 4 or 5 feet long.