RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-04-2019, 10:31 PM   #1

Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Exclamation 2002 HR Ambassador Cummins lift pump

OK newbie here on posting. On a 5700 mile road trip from Paso Robles I have an issue with the warning light it will pulse on, and power and boost both buck and it is every 8 sec on a climb or under load. Did a little research on the dreaded Cummings VP44 and found that the lift pump (this one not in tank) is considered the culprit. Following someones advice of adding a pressure gauge between water separator and VP44 (fuel pump) to check for 5-8psi under load and not just Idle. Needing to clear the way to pump found Ambient Air Sensor (#3085140) on top of the lift pump mount and Cummings has given an upgrade to a newer model.
(#4902720 Ambient Air Pressure Sensor Replacement. For Cummins.)