Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-07-2011, 04:43 PM   #1

Cummins 8.3.

I have a 2000 Monaco Diplomat with an ISC 8.3 315 HP Cummins. Since purchase it has used one pint of oil per thousand miles. After this years spring service the consumtion has increased to a quart per thousand. Performance seems the same. Can the turbocharger cause oil consumption problems? As always THANKS for any info.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-07-2011, 11:06 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdecastro View Post
I have a 2000 Monaco Diplomat with an ISC 8.3 315 HP Cummins. Since purchase it has used one pint of oil per thousand miles. After this years spring service the consumtion has increased to a quart per thousand. Performance seems the same. Can the turbocharger cause oil consumption problems? As always THANKS for any info.