RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-24-2019, 08:35 PM   #1

Cummins Dowel Pin Failure

I have a 98 Monaco Diplomat with a Cummins ISB motor with only 87,000 miles on it. Appears I have a KDP - killer dowel pin problem, which lead to cracked inner gear cover, and gear housing needing to be replaced. Anyone have experience with this, and/or suggestions? Any chance Cummins may pay for the repair despite the motor's age? Motor ran good until this happened. There's a lot of labor involved. There is a lot on the internet about this problem. Thank you!

Racer_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2019, 09:45 PM   #2

The only KDP, I dealt with in 14 years at a Dodge dealership , was 18 years ago and Cummins wouldn't get involved then because the engine was 2 years out of warranty .

Because the camshaft has to come out ( drive gear is heat shrunk onto the shaft ) to remove the broken cover the time involved gets huge.