Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-22-2017, 10:10 PM   #1

Cummins ISC Oil Pressure Sensor

I come and read this forum so often to get answers to my questions, but seldom ever get to contribute to others problems. I thought I would change that by offering my experience on a recent problem.

I have a 2002 Diplomat with a 330 hp ISC 8.3 engine. It has served me well so far. I do all of my own maintenance and repairs when possible.

Recently after about a month of having the motorhome parked in one spot, we traveled about 90 miles from Denver up to the mountains. Upon traveling west and starting to climb the first grade, my engine warning light came on. I decelerated and started to pull over, then saw the light had gone out. I accelerated again and as soon as I got enough speed up for the transmission to up-shift, the light came on again. This continued, but I found by downshifting and keeping the rpm at about 2,000 the problem could be managed.

Getting to the point a little quicker, this problem has gotten worse during our current trip. I have Silver Leaf running so I see that I am getting a PID 100 – Low Oil Pressure code. However, I also have a dash oil pressure gauge which shows oil pressure is normal, so I don’t believe I have low oil pressure. Also, engine is running great.