Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-29-2017, 03:16 PM   #1

Head gasket?

I continued looking for a cracked manifold today. Looking down on the motor from the access panel I noticed coolant at the rear of the motor on top of the trans housing. I wiped it up and turned on the motor and observed for a bit. I then saw coolant oozing out where the head and the block meet. I am not a mechanic but I suppose this is where the head gasket is located. I just did an oil analysis from Blackstone last week and there was no coolant in the oil. I have been loosing coolant for awhile, replacing a gallon about every 500 miles. Now we are getting ready to take a 600 mile trip in a couple days. What do you think my problem is and should I cancel the trip?
MO Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!