Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Caterpillar Engine Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-28-2015, 07:35 PM   #1

Radiator Clamps Popping

Hello, I recently bought a Gulfstream DP motorhome with a Cat C7 engine. I am no mechanic, learning a bit every day, but still lots to learn. Here is what has happened so far. On the road, getting low voltage, reduced power, overheating. A clamp on a radiator hose blows, coolant all over the road. Mechanic found a belt that broke, apparently due to the ac compressor seizing. Belt replaced, refilled with coolant. Mechanic says they let the engine run for hours, no issues. On the way home, the clamp pops again. They tighten it up, refill coolant, I am on my way. After another few miles, another clamp pops from another radiator hose, I am able to limp home. I have tightened up that clamp, refilled with coolant, ran the engine in my driveway, no clamps popping. The coolant did shoot out of the top of the reservoir, but I assumed that was because it was a bit overfilled. Mechanic will take another look tomorrow, but I could use some opinions about the cause for the clamps popping. If it is just loose clamps, that would be great, but I assume there is excessive pressure.
Your ideas are welcome.
Thanks,
Mike
mmccarvill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!